UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access 97 'Out of Memory' Error with 1GB Memory    
 
   
cibolabill
post Mar 14 2005, 07:33 AM
Post#1



Posts: 3
Joined: 14-March 05



I just added a 512MB memory module giving me 1GB total.
ccess 97 now gives me an 'out of memory error' when I start the application. The rest of Office 97 products start fine (word, excel and powerpoint).
I have removed and reinstalled Access with no help, also have tested the memory with 'MemTest-86 v3.2' also confirmed with PNY that I have the correct memory module.
Go to the top of the page
 
JimCarney6
post Mar 14 2005, 07:40 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,926
Joined: 9-September 02
From: Florida


what operating system are you using?
does the error occure when you start the program or during the course of using it? if during the course of using it, have you noticed any particular activity that sets it off?
Go to the top of the page
 
cibolabill
post Mar 14 2005, 07:48 AM
Post#3



Posts: 3
Joined: 14-March 05



XP with SP2, it happens when I start the application. There are some screen shots with the original posting.
Go to the top of the page
 
JimCarney6
post Mar 14 2005, 08:06 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,926
Joined: 9-September 02
From: Florida


have you tried taking the ram out to see if you go back to normal ? although most likely the ram change might be responsible, its just a bit odd to add ram and then lose a program. on windows 98 i wouldnt have been surprised as it wasnt really supposed to work with a gig of ram. but this is XP.
also recommend a virus sweep of the system just in case.
I will do some digging as well to see if i come across any articles on this problem.
in the event log, what's the event number for the error?
Go to the top of the page
 
freakazeud
post Mar 14 2005, 08:07 AM
Post#5


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 31,413
Joined: 23-September 04
From: NC, USA


Take a look at this:
More then 1GB memory
Go to the top of the page
 
JimCarney6
post Mar 14 2005, 08:10 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,926
Joined: 9-September 02
From: Florida


here you go
CC: "Out of Memory" Error Starting Microsoft Access
Article ID : 161255
Last Review : November 21, 2003
Revision : 1.0
This article was previously published under Q161255
Novice: Requires knowledge of the user interface on single-user computers.
On this page
SYMPTOMS SYMPTOMS
RESOLUTION RESOLUTION
STATUS STATUS
SYMPTOMS
You receive an "Out of memory" error when you try to start Microsoft Access on a computer that has 1 gigabyte (GB) or more of random access memory (RAM).
RESOLUTION
To prevent the error, you can use either of the following methods:
Method 1
Run Access on a computer with less than 1 GB of RAM.
Method 2
Install the latest version of the Microsoft Jet Database Engine.
STATUS
Microsoft has confirmed this to be a problem with the Microsoft Jet Database Engine version 3.0 and 3.5. This problem no longer occurs in Microsoft Jet Database Engine version 3.51, which is available from Microsoft Download Center.
For information on how to obtain Microsoft Jet Database Engine 3.51, please see the following article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base:
172733 ACC97: Updated Version of Microsoft Jet 3.5 Available for Download
APPLIES TO
• Microsoft Access 95 Standard Edition
• Microsoft Access 97 Standard Edition
Back to the top Back to the top
Keywords:
kberrmsg kbbug kbusage KB161255
Back to the top Back to the top
Go to the top of the page
 
cibolabill
post Mar 14 2005, 11:03 AM
Post#7



Posts: 3
Joined: 14-March 05



My thanks to the both of you, my Access 97 works now.
downloaded Office 97(SP1 sr1off97.exe), Office 97(sp2 sr2bof97.exe) and Jet35sp3.exe.
It worked after applying SP1.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    23rd June 2018 - 08:12 PM