UtterAccess.com
We have detected that you are using an unsupported web browser. We recommend you to upgrade your web browser to get the most from UtterAccess forums.
Why should and how can I upgrade?
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Backup button on a form    
 
   
mars
post Oct 16 2009, 09:47 PM
Post #1

UtterAccess Member
Posts: 27



Hi
Am trying to create a backup Button in my application
Is there anyway I could call the built in backup that you select In microsoft access 2007 that backs up the whole database from a button on the form. I would like to call the backup function and the compact and repair function.
Any help on this would be be great
Thanks
Mars
Go to the top of the page
 
+
theDBguy
post Oct 17 2009, 09:43 AM
Post #2

Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 57,831
From: SoCal, USA



Hi Mars,
You might be able to try something like:
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdBackup
and
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdCompactDatabase
(untested)
Hope that helps...
Go to the top of the page
 
+
mars
post Oct 17 2009, 11:55 PM
Post #3

UtterAccess Member
Posts: 27



Thanks db
tried the suggestion but it but it didnt work. Maybe Access 2007 has a different command.
Cheers
Mars
Go to the top of the page
 
+
jurotek
post Oct 18 2009, 12:01 PM
Post #4

UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,420
From: NV



Hi,
Look in HERE
Obelieve Helen has function to back up DB
Go to the top of the page
 
+
mars
post Oct 18 2009, 06:22 PM
Post #5

UtterAccess Member
Posts: 27



Thanks for that Jurotek Ive downloaded the sample and will see if I can make use of it
uch appreciated
Mars
Go to the top of the page
 
+
theDBguy
post Oct 19 2009, 10:33 AM
Post #6

Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 57,831
From: SoCal, USA



Hi Mars,
Sorry about that. Acc2007 supports those commands but I suspect that you can't use both of them on the same database. You will probably have to execute them on an external database to compact and repair as well as backup your database,
Perhaps that is what Jurotek has pointed out in his link.
Thanks for the assist, Jurotek. thumbup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+
ToddW
post Oct 13 2010, 12:38 PM
Post #7

UtterAccess Addict
Posts: 274



I wonder what the DB guy meant by "Acc2007 supports those commands". I've been searching around the internet for a while and can't find anyone who has gotten this command to work.
oCmd.RunCommand acCmdBackup
Has anyone here gotten it to work, or known someone who has? I'm also wondering why the command even exists if it doesn't work.
Go to the top of the page
 
+

Thank you for your support! Reply to this topicStart new topic

Jump To Forum:
 



RSS Search  ·  Go to Top  ·  Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 2nd September 2014 - 06:31 AM