UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Backup button on a form    
 
   
mars
post Oct 16 2009, 09:47 PM
Post#1



Posts: 27
Joined: 1-February 09



Hi
Am trying to create a backup Button in my application
Is there anyway I could call the built in backup that you select In microsoft access 2007 that backs up the whole database from a button on the form. I would like to call the backup function and the compact and repair function.
Any help on this would be be great
Thanks
Mars
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 17 2009, 09:43 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 61,540
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SoCal, USA


Hi Mars,
You might be able to try something like:
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdBackup
and
DoCmd.RunCommand acCmdCompactDatabase
(untested)
Hope that helps...
Go to the top of the page
 
mars
post Oct 17 2009, 11:55 PM
Post#3



Posts: 27
Joined: 1-February 09



Thanks db
tried the suggestion but it but it didnt work. Maybe Access 2007 has a different command.
Cheers
Mars
Go to the top of the page
 
jurotek
post Oct 18 2009, 12:01 PM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 1,420
Joined: 22-January 06
From: NV


Hi,
Look in HERE
Obelieve Helen has function to back up DB
Go to the top of the page
 
mars
post Oct 18 2009, 06:22 PM
Post#5



Posts: 27
Joined: 1-February 09



Thanks for that Jurotek Ive downloaded the sample and will see if I can make use of it
uch appreciated
Mars
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 19 2009, 10:33 AM
Post#6


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 61,540
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SoCal, USA


Hi Mars,
Sorry about that. Acc2007 supports those commands but I suspect that you can't use both of them on the same database. You will probably have to execute them on an external database to compact and repair as well as backup your database,
Perhaps that is what Jurotek has pointed out in his link.
Thanks for the assist, Jurotek. thumbup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
ToddW
post Oct 13 2010, 12:38 PM
Post#7



Posts: 279
Joined: 1-June 07



I wonder what the DB guy meant by "Acc2007 supports those commands". I've been searching around the internet for a while and can't find anyone who has gotten this command to work.
oCmd.RunCommand acCmdBackup
Has anyone here gotten it to work, or known someone who has? I'm also wondering why the command even exists if it doesn't work.
Go to the top of the page
 


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    31st March 2015 - 04:43 AM