UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Code For "connect To Database" Window    
 
   
hk1
post Mar 30 2012, 10:32 AM
Post#1



Posts: 446
Joined: 17-January 11



I'm thinking about building a window in Access VBA that would come up when the application first starts and ask them which database they want to connect to, along with all the many different kinds of parameters necessary to build the connection string. Before I do this, I just wanted to post here to see if there's anything like this already built and publicly available.
YI, I'm using Access 2007 and 2010 with SQL Server Express 2008. The version of SQL Server could vary from one installation to another.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Mar 30 2012, 10:37 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 63,457
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SoCal, USA


Hi,
There is this demo in the Code Archive but I'm not sure if Moo (CyberCow) considered SQL Server in it:
Relink / Swap Between LIVE, TEST and LOCAL Data
Hope it would give you a place to start.
Just my 2 cents... 2cents.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
hk1
post Mar 30 2012, 10:56 AM
Post#3



Posts: 446
Joined: 17-January 11



Thanks. That one isn't really going to help me. Connecting to SQL is a very different thing than connecting to Jet/ACE.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Mar 30 2012, 11:38 AM
Post#4


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 63,457
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SoCal, USA


Sorry, couldn't think of any other place to point you.
Good luck!
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    4th September 2015 - 12:47 AM