UtterAccess.com
We have detected that you are using an unsupported web browser. We recommend you to upgrade your web browser to get the most from UtterAccess forums.
Why should and how can I upgrade?
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Code For "connect To Database" Window    
 
   
hk1
post Mar 30 2012, 10:32 AM
Post #1

UtterAccess Veteran
Posts: 446



I'm thinking about building a window in Access VBA that would come up when the application first starts and ask them which database they want to connect to, along with all the many different kinds of parameters necessary to build the connection string. Before I do this, I just wanted to post here to see if there's anything like this already built and publicly available.
YI, I'm using Access 2007 and 2010 with SQL Server Express 2008. The version of SQL Server could vary from one installation to another.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
theDBguy
post Mar 30 2012, 10:37 AM
Post #2

Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 58,110
From: SoCal, USA



Hi,
There is this demo in the Code Archive but I'm not sure if Moo (CyberCow) considered SQL Server in it:
Relink / Swap Between LIVE, TEST and LOCAL Data
Hope it would give you a place to start.
Just my 2 cents... 2cents.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+
hk1
post Mar 30 2012, 10:56 AM
Post #3

UtterAccess Veteran
Posts: 446



Thanks. That one isn't really going to help me. Connecting to SQL is a very different thing than connecting to Jet/ACE.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
theDBguy
post Mar 30 2012, 11:38 AM
Post #4

Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 58,110
From: SoCal, USA



Sorry, couldn't think of any other place to point you.
Good luck!
Go to the top of the page
 
+

Thank you for your support! Reply to this topicStart new topic

Jump To Forum:
 



RSS Search  ·  Go to Top  ·  Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 22nd September 2014 - 01:14 PM