UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Import dbf File    
 
   
jmcraven
post Jul 20 2005, 11:36 PM
Post#1



Posts: 362
Joined: 2-December 03
From: Wisconsin


Access 97 or 2000. I don't care which. I get the same in both. When I import a dbase file (*.dbf), it prompts me for an index file (*.ndx). I do not have such an animal. So how do I link to or import this data in Access? Excel pulls the data up no problem. But there is too much data in too many files for Excel to be of much use. Please advise.
Go to the top of the page
 
freakazeud
post Jul 20 2005, 11:47 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 31,413
Joined: 23-September 04
From: NC, USA


Hi,
this is from microsoft Help:<
HTH
Good luck
Go to the top of the page
 
jmcraven
post Jul 20 2005, 11:54 PM
Post#3



Posts: 362
Joined: 2-December 03
From: Wisconsin


I'm getting the same thing no matter if I import or link. Perhaps this is not a dBase file? Do you know of any other programs that use the .dbf extension?
Go to the top of the page
 
freakazeud
post Jul 20 2005, 11:57 PM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 31,413
Joined: 23-September 04
From: NC, USA


Hi,
check this:
many other programs
HTH
Good luck
Go to the top of the page
 
jmcraven
post Jul 21 2005, 12:51 AM
Post#5



Posts: 362
Joined: 2-December 03
From: Wisconsin


OK, I got clarification from Allen-Bradley (makers of the software that generates this file), and they create files that are formatted in "DB4 wide format". Does that make any difference?
Go to the top of the page
 
freakazeud
post Jul 21 2005, 12:55 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 31,413
Joined: 23-September 04
From: NC, USA


No, it shouldn't!
Try to follow these steps to use a macro and see if it will give you similar issues:
import with macro
HTH
Good luck
Go to the top of the page
 
jmcraven
post Jul 21 2005, 01:15 AM
Post#7



Posts: 362
Joined: 2-December 03
From: Wisconsin


Somehow, the macro worked. As long as that's the case, I don't care if I can't do it manually! Hooray! Thanks a bunch, FZ. You're my hero!
Go to the top of the page
 
freakazeud
post Jul 21 2005, 01:17 AM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 31,413
Joined: 23-September 04
From: NC, USA


You're welcome frown.gif
Glad I could assist.
Good luck on future projects!
Go to the top of the page
 
jmcraven
post Jul 21 2005, 06:54 AM
Post#9



Posts: 362
Joined: 2-December 03
From: Wisconsin


After quite a bit of messing around with the files, I have come to the realization that I can connect to the data just fine. The problem is with the file names. Apparently, Access 97 and 2000 have problems with lengthy file names. For example, one of the file names is "2005 05 19 0000 (Tagname).DBF". I don't know what I'm going to do about that. I'm thinking I might be able to get away with it's MS DOS (8.3) name. But that's another post...
The reason the macro worked was that I renamed the files to single letters (the above file was shortened to "A.DBF" to make viewing the entire macro easier. Oh well. Live and learn.
Go to the top of the page
 
freakazeud
post Jul 21 2005, 10:41 AM
Post#10


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 31,413
Joined: 23-September 04
From: NC, USA


Ahhh, yeas!
The import needs to be 8 characters or less in file name size. I didn't think of that as you said it was asking for index files which you didn't have. I would think it would have given you a different error message for the file length case, guess not. You could create a batch file which renames them all for you if you want, or if you have win XP you can just go to windows explorer, click the select all, then right click on the first file and rename, then rename it and all files will be automatically renamed for you.
Either way, glad you got it sorted out.
Good luck on future projects.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    14th December 2017 - 05:02 AM