(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> MS Access 2007 basic module use    

smaftei
post Sep 25 2008, 11:58 AM
Post #1

UtterAccess Member

(IMG:http://www.utteraccess.com/forum/style_emoticons/default/cryhard.gif) I am new to Access and the books and info I find about modules is past the first steps. I need to know how to use a module, what to do with a module. From creating one to using it in the form or report or where ever it is used. For example, if I wanted to calculate asset depreciation and put the amount in the table.

Edited by: smaftei on Thu Sep 25 13:00:29 EDT 2008.
Go to the top of the page

+
bnelson333
post Sep 25 2008, 12:45 PM
Post #2

UtterAccess Veteran

Welcome to UA!

You can create a module in the database window. To access the VBA editor, press ALT-F11. Here you can add code to your forms or modules.

A simple procedure in a module looks something like this:

Public Sub HelloWorld()
msgbox "Hello World"
End Sub

When you run that, you will see a popup that says "Hello World".

You could then put a button on your form, and in the onclick event, you could tell it to run HelloWorld. E.g.

Public Sub cmdMyButton_OnClick()
HelloWorld
End Sub

It's impossible to tell you everything you can do with modules in one post, it's a whole new world from Access "out of the box", but it's very powerful. Just keep poking around UA, you'll learn it quick!

+
smaftei
post Sep 25 2008, 01:01 PM
Post #3

UtterAccess Member

(IMG:http://www.utteraccess.com/forum/style_emoticons/default/thanks.gif) Now I understand the basic use of a module, is kind of like a macro. But my next question is how do I use a module with a textbox to do a calculation and save it in the table. I was able to figure out almost everything pretty quickly, but the modules.

+
bnelson333
post Sep 25 2008, 01:08 PM
Post #4

UtterAccess Veteran