UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Open form on startup    
 
   
jsblackmaro
post Aug 18 2010, 10:32 AM
Post#1



Posts: 45
Joined: 19-February 07



Hello,
Im trying to open a certain form in Access 2007 on startup and not show the navigation pane. I remember there was an option to show a splash screen in Access 2003. How do you do that in 2007?
Thanks in advance!
Josh
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 18 2010, 10:48 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 63,407
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SoCal, USA


Hi Josh,
welcome2UA.gif
Are you talking about?
Office button > Access Options > Current Database > Display Form
Hope that helps...
Go to the top of the page
 
jsblackmaro
post Aug 18 2010, 11:03 AM
Post#3



Posts: 45
Joined: 19-February 07



Thats actually what Im looking for. I cant believe I missed that! Thanks DB Guy!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
jsblackmaro
post Aug 18 2010, 11:06 AM
Post#4



Posts: 45
Joined: 19-February 07



I actually have another question now. < If I wanted to do a splash and make it disappear after a set interval? I know its an event but I dont remember which one it is..
Go to the top of the page
 
jsblackmaro
post Aug 18 2010, 11:25 AM
Post#5



Posts: 45
Joined: 19-February 07



Thanks Larry. I didn't have all the event procedures now I see them. Now if I want to open another form called main, how would I modify this code?
Private Sub Form_Timer()
'On the forms timer event close the start-up form
DoCmd.Close acForm, "frmStartUp"
'Open up the main switchboard form when the start-up form closes
DoCmd.OpenForm "frmSwitchboard"
End Sub
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 18 2010, 01:06 PM
Post#6


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 63,407
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SoCal, USA


Hi,
In case you are interested... if you create a BMP image for your splash screen, give it a name that is the same as the name of your database application, and then put the BMP file in the same folder as your database application; see what happens when you open your application.
Good luck with your project.
Go to the top of the page
 
jsblackmaro
post Aug 18 2010, 01:20 PM
Post#7



Posts: 45
Joined: 19-February 07



Ok I got that to work but now every 5 seconds, it launches the main form on top of what I am working on. How can I make it stop doing that?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 18 2010, 02:14 PM
Post#8


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 63,407
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SoCal, USA


Hi,
Just curious if you saw the bottom part of my reply above. You might want to give that a try.
Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
trapperalexander
post Aug 18 2010, 02:19 PM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,135
Joined: 31-January 08
From: Plano, TX


DBGuy, COOL! never knew about this. :thumbup:" border="0" alt="thumbup.gif" />
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 18 2010, 02:22 PM
Post#10


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 63,407
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SoCal, USA


Hi Trapper,
When Access opens a database file, it looks for an image file with the same name. If not found, you get the Access logo.
Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
prebez
post Oct 14 2011, 07:12 AM
Post#11



Posts: 911
Joined: 30-September 03
From: Copenhagen, Denmark


Hi Jsblackmaro
On your form_timer event on the splash form the first command must be Me.SetTimerInterval = 0
That stops the timer, otherwise, as you have observed the event will keep firing.
And while dbGuy's solution is nifty, in many cases the application simply open to fast for anyone to enjoy the splash screen ;-)
Unless of course they have shift opened an Acces file many times, because every time you do a line is added to your registry (I have no clue why). That was the case in 2000 anyway. Haven't checked it for 2010 yet.
This makes Access progressively slower in starting up, so when you have about 500 lines in there you will see your splash screen.
Hth
Jock
Go to the top of the page
 
Daviddu
post Apr 11 2013, 12:08 PM
Post#12



Posts: 1
Joined: 11-April 13



where do I find the path
ffice button > Access Options > Current Database > Display Form
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Apr 11 2013, 12:21 PM
Post#13


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 63,407
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SoCal, USA


Hi Daviddu,
welcome2UA.gif
That path was for Access 2007. Access 2010 doesn't have the office button anymore. So, if you're using 2010, the new path is:
File > Options > Current Database > Display Form
Just my 2 cents... 2cents.gif
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    31st August 2015 - 05:47 AM