UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Organization Chart From Employee List, Office 2010    
 
   
khokhart
post Apr 25 2011, 07:17 PM
Post #1

UtterAccess Addict
Posts: 259



Hello,

I have a below mentioned table of employees with their title and who they report to.

I was wondering if there is a way to create organization chart using this table.

Table:
ID Name Title ReportsTo
1 Amie Baldwin President
8 Beverly Jones Production Manager David Richards
5 David Mendlen Sales Manager Don Hall
6 David Richards VP Production Amie Baldwin
4 Deanna Meyer Marketing Manager Don Hall
3 Don Hall VP Sales & Marketing Amie Baldwin
14 Jeff Price Lead Tester Jonathan Mollerup
10 Jonathan Mollerup Lead Developer Nikki McCormick
12 Kim Akers Program Director Nikki McCormick
2 Mikael Sandberg Assistant Amie Baldwin
13 Mike Galos Sr. Developer Jonathan Mollerup
9 Nikki McCormick VP IT Amie Baldwin
7 Tom Johnston Assistant David Richards
11 Tristan Randall Project Lead Nikki McCormick
15 Wendy Vasse Inside Sales Associate David Mendlen

I will appreciate all help i can get around this issue.

Thank you

Taizoon
Go to the top of the page
 
+
danishani
post Apr 25 2011, 07:54 PM
Post #2

UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,162
From: Washington, USA



Hi Taizoon,

Check below link out on how to Add in the Organizational Chart for Access 2010;
http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/access-h...A010377203.aspx


Below an example on how to do this programmatically, although it stated only for Word, Excel or Powerpoint the code can apply in Access.
http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa...fice.10%29.aspx

HTH,
Daniel
Go to the top of the page
 
+
khokhart
post Apr 25 2011, 08:12 PM
Post #3

UtterAccess Addict
Posts: 259



I tried the first MS Office like for the add it but add in is not visible or accessible from Access 2010. I can see the add it from Word, PowerPoint and Excel.

The second link, gives me run time error '445' in Function CreateDiagram.

in fact i had checked the second part before posting the help and in fact the table is from the example only..

if you can help would be great...
Go to the top of the page
 
+
AvgJoe
post Apr 26 2011, 09:18 AM
Post #4

UtterAccess Ruler
Posts: 2,042
From: West Coast, USA



Taizoon,

I have something at home that might help. I'll follow-up tomorrow with the article/code.


AvgJoe
Go to the top of the page
 
+
AvgJoe
post Apr 27 2011, 08:43 AM
Post #5

UtterAccess Ruler
Posts: 2,042
From: West Coast, USA



Taizoon,

As promised. I hope this helps.


AvgJoe
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Access_Visio_OrgChart.pdf ( 582.95K ) Number of downloads: 105
 
Go to the top of the page
 
+
khokhart
post Apr 27 2011, 10:59 AM
Post #6

UtterAccess Addict
Posts: 259



Thank you very much for the article.

I will let you know as soon as I review it and/or try to implement it.

I appreciate your help.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
khokhart
post Apr 27 2011, 10:17 PM
Post #7

UtterAccess Addict
Posts: 259



Hey Thank you very much for that article. It was very helpful in fact it works. I have Access 2010 as well as Visio 2010 installed, so many things were different from article but still it really helped. certainly as many things were different from the article, i was able to figure out almost all except one last thing. (as soon as my code works I will post full detail on what i had to change for 2010 and how i could make it work)

the last part of the code where he is calling the shell function to execute the command to open orgchartwiz with file name and field names, i am not able to execute shell function, it gives me error. it gives error if i write the way article says, i tried different combination and putting " before and after got me to the point where its executing function but still gave error "path not found".

the syntax i have written works as i checked from command prompt and it did generate orgchart

this is what I am writing.

Shell "C:\'Program Files (x86)'\'Microsoft Office'\Office14\orgwiz.exe /filename C:\CooNECT\DataFiles\OrgChartDataFile.xls /name-field EmployeeName /manager-field ManagersName"

in command prompt use " instead of ' for path name

any help would be life saving here..

Thank you

Taizoon
Go to the top of the page
 
+
AvgJoe
post Apr 28 2011, 09:10 AM
Post #8

UtterAccess Ruler
Posts: 2,042
From: West Coast, USA



Taizoon,

I'm happy to hear that the article helped. I guess that's one of the reasons why I've kept that article for close to 10 years (it was originally printed in December 2001).

I'll see if I can set aside some time to look at your issue. At the moment, I'm battling a very nasty rootkit (TDL3) on my workstation - not fun at all.

I know you're close.


AvgJoe

One thing I did notice - you have ..... C:\CooNECT ..... maybe there's a typo. Maybe it should be ..... C:\Connect ......

This post has been edited by AvgJoe: Apr 28 2011, 09:12 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+
khokhart
post Apr 28 2011, 03:42 PM
Post #9

UtterAccess Addict
Posts: 259



Thank you very much for looking in to the solution...

CooNECT is my application's name and the folder name is CooNECT only..

but thank you for pointing out any possible mistake..

i will wait for your reply and all the best for your work.

Taizoon
Go to the top of the page
 
+

Thank you for your support! Reply to this topicStart new topic

Jump To Forum:
 



RSS Search  ·  Go to Top  ·  Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 18th April 2014 - 04:06 PM