UtterAccess.com
We have detected that you are using an unsupported web browser. We recommend you to upgrade your web browser to get the most from UtterAccess forums.
Why should and how can I upgrade?
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Prevent Accidental Deletion Of Data, Office 2010    

snapjuice
post Feb 28 2012, 01:45 PM
Post #1

I am using the 'contacts list' template that came with Access 2010. I am new to Access.
I would like to prevent accidental deletion of existing records. How do I do this? can I lock the content of the cells like in the old "Microsoft Works"?
Thanks in advance for your help.
Go to the top of the page

+
rbianco
post Feb 28 2012, 01:53 PM
Post #2

UtterAccess VIP

Welcome to UA
welcome2UA.gif
The best way to prevent "accidental deletions of data" is to control your user through forms designed with restrictive properties. Add Only set to YES, and/or Allow Deletions set to NO.
You should be able to set those properties in the CONTACTS template database.
(Now this of course does not speak to deliberate deletion/sabbotage of data, in which case you want security and backups.)

+
River34
post Feb 28 2012, 01:58 PM
Post #3

UtterAccess Addict

Okay, Snapjuice. First, welcome to the world of Microsoft Access. It can be a fun place to play or it can bring you to tears. Better earmark the forums you find most helpful.
All forms, controls, etc. in Access let you lock records in various ways. First, you need to right click on the form or control and go to it's property sheet. This is where you control the data. You can enable/disable, lock/unlock, allow edits, allow deletions, record locks, etc. for all of the data. Go to the 'All' tab and see what properties will do the job for you. Let us know if you need more help. Please be more specific with your questions.

+
doctor9
post Feb 28 2012, 02:11 PM
Post #4

UtterAccess Editor

snapjuice,
welcome2UA.gif