UtterAccess.com
We have detected that you are using an unsupported web browser. We recommend you to upgrade your web browser to get the most from UtterAccess forums.
Why should and how can I upgrade?
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V   1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Return without Gosub!!!!!!!!    
 
   
mollymacd
post Sep 8 2008, 04:18 AM
Post #1

New Member
Posts: 10



My database has been working fine until today.
I keep getting an error 'Return without Gosub'. when i click details it comes up with error number 2950.
Anyone got any ideas please??
Go to the top of the page
 
+
LPurvis
post Sep 8 2008, 05:29 AM
Post #2

UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 14,759
From: England (North East / South Yorks)



2950? Ah right - I see... Macros forum.
But you're presumably calling a VBA function in this macro?
What function?
Since it's only started giving you an error (i.e. you've changed nothing?) then corruption is one likely possibility.
And a decompile would be appropriate.
Also it might be related to a trusted issue (the project you're running isn't trusted).
HAs described in this MS article.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
mollymacd
post Sep 8 2008, 05:40 AM
Post #3

New Member
Posts: 10



Many thanks for replying. I have already had a look at the trusted issue thing and I am confident that this is not the issue as I have enabled all macros and added all locations.
The problem function seems to be 'openform' - by the way I am relatively new to everything Access!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
LPurvis
post Sep 8 2008, 05:47 AM
Post #4

UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 14,759
From: England (North East / South Yorks)



Don't worry - I'm on wobbly legs myself with Macros. ;-)
o the application is definitely in a trusted location? Your code is able to run normally. (i.e. if you run a VBA procedure without using a Macro - it completes normally - and visibly?)
Have a look at the decompile method mentioned then. Just to be sure.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
mollymacd
post Sep 8 2008, 05:58 AM
Post #5

New Member
Posts: 10



had a wee look thanks but haven't got a clue where to run this. Could you maybe advise?
Go to the top of the page
 
+
LPurvis
post Sep 8 2008, 06:14 AM
Post #6

UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 14,759
From: England (North East / South Yorks)



Certainly.
The easiest way is probably to make a shortcut.
But you can do this from a command prompt or Run it.
For example in the Windows menu Start> Run >
Ultimately you'll want a path such as
"Path to MSAccess" /decompile "Path to your App"
For example:
"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office 2007\Office12\MSACCESS.EXE" /decompile "H:\Apps\MyApp.ACCDB"
That run, either from a Start prompt or as the path in a shortcut.
You can equally run it from VBA of course.
Shell """C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office 2007\Office12\MSACCESS.EXE"" /decompile ""H:\Apps\MyApp.ACCDB"""
Go to the top of the page
 
+
mollymacd
post Sep 8 2008, 06:24 AM
Post #7

New Member
Posts: 10



Many thanks.
It worked. I actually found in the Visual Basic Window, under the Debug Tag - Compile and this worked. Again thanks for all your help
Go to the top of the page
 
+
LPurvis
post Sep 8 2008, 07:31 AM
Post #8

UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 14,759
From: England (North East / South Yorks)



Cool.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
FredSionna
post Sep 30 2008, 08:33 PM
Post #9

New Member
Posts: 1



You guys are life savers. The Debug solution worked for me, too. I run my law office off a macro-driver database and the main module got zapped by that 'Gosub' error. I have very grateful.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
sunrun
post Mar 15 2009, 07:52 PM
Post #10

UtterAccess Enthusiast
Posts: 69
From: U.S.A.



This worked for me as well (decompiling).
After decompiling is this fixed permanently? Or is there an issue that needs to be cleared up?
Go to the top of the page
 
+
dxw
post Apr 1 2009, 09:13 PM
Post #11

New Member
Posts: 1
From: New Zealand



Thanks everyone, a very useful post / threat. Similar problem and same fix.
msaccess.exe /decompile "D:DatabaseDirectoryDatabase.mdb"
Worked perfectly!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Tetsuniko
post Apr 10 2009, 10:46 AM
Post #12

New Member
Posts: 1



OMG OMG OMG, you guys saved my life. I built the customer service for the entire company around this stupid database in access and I got this error today. It wouldn't let me pull reports, forms, or print. It would have been a massive undertaking to rebuild it if I couldn't find the error. I clicked on VBA, Debug, Compile and it worked like a charm. It even fixed another random error I have just been living with all this time. Thank you so much...and god bless this forum. LOL
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Mr.Kyle
post Aug 5 2010, 09:05 AM
Post #13

New Member
Posts: 7



Registered just to say thank you. Excellent advice. I am now an UtterAccess follower.
Go to the top of the page
 
+
JeffGordon
post Jun 13 2011, 12:32 PM
Post #14

New Member
Posts: 1



This thread just keep on giving! Fixed my problem today. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
JayF
post Nov 7 2011, 06:46 PM
Post #15

New Member
Posts: 1



Yet another headache cured with this thread, by a Yorkshireman too. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
corrieann
post Nov 11 2011, 04:42 PM
Post #16

UtterAccess Guru
Posts: 569



Love this forum!! This thread just saved my life!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
RenaG
post Jan 30 2012, 12:14 PM
Post #17

New Member
Posts: 13



Thank you for this post! I got rid of the error by going into the VBA and Debug | Compile Database?
RLG
Go to the top of the page
 
+
ChuckT
post Jun 18 2012, 02:42 PM
Post #18

New Member
Posts: 1



Thanks all. Recompile worked for me as well. Try to find this in any of the texts, etc. Many thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
+
joegcook
post Jul 17 2012, 06:01 PM
Post #19

New Member
Posts: 5



Seems to have worked for a problem I was having, too. VBA --> Debug --> Compile is a life saver! I would have never thought to try this, as I am only using macros and haven't written any VBA. Thank you UtterAccess!
Go to the top of the page
 
+
Jeff B.
post Jul 17 2012, 06:10 PM
Post #20

UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 8,694
From: Pacific NorthWet



If you are a "belt AND suspenders" type, make sure you have regular backups of the entire db/application. That way, if the Compact/Repair or Compile or /Decompile fails to fix the problem (or just plain fails), you still have a most-recent backup.
.. and if you are a "belt, suspenders AND a length of cord" type, make a backup every time you tell yourself "whoa, I sure wouldn't want to have to do all THAT again!".
Good luck!
Go to the top of the page
 
+

2 Pages V   1 2 >
Thank you for your support! Reply to this topicStart new topic

Jump To Forum:
 



RSS Search  ·  Go to Top  ·  Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 21st September 2014 - 05:06 PM