UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Return without Gosub!!!!!!!!    
 
   
mollymacd
post Sep 8 2008, 04:18 AM
Post#1



Posts: 10
Joined: 2-July 08



My database has been working fine until today.
I keep getting an error 'Return without Gosub'. when i click details it comes up with error number 2950.
Anyone got any ideas please??
Go to the top of the page
 
LPurvis
post Sep 8 2008, 05:29 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 15,018
Joined: 27-June 06
From: England (North East / South Yorks)


2950? Ah right - I see... Macros forum.
But you're presumably calling a VBA function in this macro?
What function?
Since it's only started giving you an error (i.e. you've changed nothing?) then corruption is one likely possibility.
And a decompile would be appropriate.
Also it might be related to a trusted issue (the project you're running isn't trusted).
HAs described in this MS article.
Go to the top of the page
 
mollymacd
post Sep 8 2008, 05:40 AM
Post#3



Posts: 10
Joined: 2-July 08



Many thanks for replying. I have already had a look at the trusted issue thing and I am confident that this is not the issue as I have enabled all macros and added all locations.
The problem function seems to be 'openform' - by the way I am relatively new to everything Access!!
Go to the top of the page
 
LPurvis
post Sep 8 2008, 05:47 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 15,018
Joined: 27-June 06
From: England (North East / South Yorks)


Don't worry - I'm on wobbly legs myself with Macros. ;-)
o the application is definitely in a trusted location? Your code is able to run normally. (i.e. if you run a VBA procedure without using a Macro - it completes normally - and visibly?)
Have a look at the decompile method mentioned then. Just to be sure.
Go to the top of the page
 
mollymacd
post Sep 8 2008, 05:58 AM
Post#5



Posts: 10
Joined: 2-July 08



had a wee look thanks but haven't got a clue where to run this. Could you maybe advise?
Go to the top of the page
 
LPurvis
post Sep 8 2008, 06:14 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 15,018
Joined: 27-June 06
From: England (North East / South Yorks)


Certainly.
The easiest way is probably to make a shortcut.
But you can do this from a command prompt or Run it.
For example in the Windows menu Start> Run >
Ultimately you'll want a path such as
"Path to MSAccess" /decompile "Path to your App"
For example:
"C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office 2007\Office12\MSACCESS.EXE" /decompile "H:\Apps\MyApp.ACCDB"
That run, either from a Start prompt or as the path in a shortcut.
You can equally run it from VBA of course.
Shell """C:\Program Files\Microsoft Office 2007\Office12\MSACCESS.EXE"" /decompile ""H:\Apps\MyApp.ACCDB"""
Go to the top of the page
 
mollymacd
post Sep 8 2008, 06:24 AM
Post#7



Posts: 10
Joined: 2-July 08



Many thanks.
It worked. I actually found in the Visual Basic Window, under the Debug Tag - Compile and this worked. Again thanks for all your help
Go to the top of the page
 
LPurvis
post Sep 8 2008, 07:31 AM
Post#8


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 15,018
Joined: 27-June 06
From: England (North East / South Yorks)


Cool.
Go to the top of the page
 
FredSionna
post Sep 30 2008, 08:33 PM
Post#9



Posts: 1
Joined: 30-September 08



You guys are life savers. The Debug solution worked for me, too. I run my law office off a macro-driver database and the main module got zapped by that 'Gosub' error. I have very grateful.
Go to the top of the page
 
sunrun
post Mar 15 2009, 07:52 PM
Post#10



Posts: 69
Joined: 11-July 08
From: U.S.A.


This worked for me as well (decompiling).
After decompiling is this fixed permanently? Or is there an issue that needs to be cleared up?
Go to the top of the page
 
dxw
post Apr 1 2009, 09:13 PM
Post#11



Posts: 1
Joined: 13-March 07
From: New Zealand


Thanks everyone, a very useful post / threat. Similar problem and same fix.
msaccess.exe /decompile "D:DatabaseDirectoryDatabase.mdb"
Worked perfectly!
Go to the top of the page
 
Tetsuniko
post Apr 10 2009, 10:46 AM
Post#12



Posts: 1
Joined: 10-April 09



OMG OMG OMG, you guys saved my life. I built the customer service for the entire company around this stupid database in access and I got this error today. It wouldn't let me pull reports, forms, or print. It would have been a massive undertaking to rebuild it if I couldn't find the error. I clicked on VBA, Debug, Compile and it worked like a charm. It even fixed another random error I have just been living with all this time. Thank you so much...and god bless this forum. LOL
Go to the top of the page
 
Mr.Kyle
post Aug 5 2010, 09:05 AM
Post#13



Posts: 7
Joined: 5-August 10



Registered just to say thank you. Excellent advice. I am now an UtterAccess follower.
Go to the top of the page
 
JeffGordon
post Jun 13 2011, 12:32 PM
Post#14



Posts: 1
Joined: 8-October 09



This thread just keep on giving! Fixed my problem today. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
JayF
post Nov 7 2011, 06:46 PM
Post#15



Posts: 1
Joined: 7-November 11



Yet another headache cured with this thread, by a Yorkshireman too. Thanks!
Go to the top of the page
 
corrieann
post Nov 11 2011, 04:42 PM
Post#16



Posts: 569
Joined: 10-August 10



Love this forum!! This thread just saved my life!!!
Go to the top of the page
 
RenaG
post Jan 30 2012, 12:14 PM
Post#17



Posts: 13
Joined: 6-July 11



Thank you for this post! I got rid of the error by going into the VBA and Debug | Compile Database?
RLG
Go to the top of the page
 
ChuckT
post Jun 18 2012, 02:42 PM
Post#18



Posts: 1
Joined: 18-June 12



Thanks all. Recompile worked for me as well. Try to find this in any of the texts, etc. Many thanks again
Go to the top of the page
 
joegcook
post Jul 17 2012, 06:01 PM
Post#19



Posts: 5
Joined: 11-July 12



Seems to have worked for a problem I was having, too. VBA --> Debug --> Compile is a life saver! I would have never thought to try this, as I am only using macros and haven't written any VBA. Thank you UtterAccess!
Go to the top of the page
 
Jeff B.
post Jul 17 2012, 06:10 PM
Post#20


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 8,950
Joined: 30-April 10
From: Pacific NorthWet


If you are a "belt AND suspenders" type, make sure you have regular backups of the entire db/application. That way, if the Compact/Repair or Compile or /Decompile fails to fix the problem (or just plain fails), you still have a most-recent backup.
.. and if you are a "belt, suspenders AND a length of cord" type, make a backup every time you tell yourself "whoa, I sure wouldn't want to have to do all THAT again!".
Good luck!
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V  1 2 >


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    18th April 2015 - 11:33 PM