UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> How to access AllowFullMenus option through VBA    
 
   
nakumar11
post Sep 7 2009, 01:17 AM
Post#1



Posts: 3
Joined: 7-September 09



Hi,
There is an option AllowFullMenus under Access Option/Current Database. I need to access this through VBA. When I searched in the Help, I understand that we can set this through VBA. I tried, but unable to get the VBA code. Plese any one help me in solving this problem.
Go to the top of the page
 
alancossey
post Sep 7 2009, 02:19 AM
Post#2



Posts: 474
Joined: 26-September 05
From: Norfolk, UK


Hiya,
You can set it using
etPropertyDAO CurrentDb, "AllowFullMenus", dbBoolean, AllowFullMenus
where AllowFullMenus is a boolean value you pass to the function SetPropertyDAO, which itself is defined thus
Function SetPropertyDAO(DAOObject As Object, _
PropertyName As String, _
PropertyType As Integer, _
PropertyValue As Variant) As Boolean
'Purpose: Set a property for an object, creating if necessary.
'Arguments: DAOObject = the object whose property should be set.
' PropertyName = the name of the property to set.
' PropertyType = the type of property (needed for creating)
' PropertyValue = the value to set this property to.
If HasDAOProperty(DAOObject, PropertyName) Then
DAOObject.Properties(PropertyName) = PropertyValue
Else
DAOObject.Properties.Append DAOObject.CreateProperty(PropertyName, PropertyType, PropertyValue)
End If
SetPropertyDAO = True
End Function
The reason for needing such a function is that by default the "AllowFullMenus" property of the database does not exist, so you need to create it first if you want to give it a value.
To find out whether ShowFullMenus is true or false, you can use a function thus
If HasDAOProperty(CurrentDb, "AllowFullMenus") = True Then
DatabaseAllowFullMenus = CurrentDb.Properties("AllowFullMenus")
Else
DatabaseAllowFullMenus = True
End If
Go to the top of the page
 
nakumar11
post Sep 11 2009, 06:51 AM
Post#3



Posts: 3
Joined: 7-September 09



Thank you very much. I think similarly I can try for ribbon name property also. I will try for that and in case if I get any doubts, I will contact you.
Thanks again.
Go to the top of the page
 
alancossey
post Sep 11 2009, 07:29 AM
Post#4



Posts: 474
Joined: 26-September 05
From: Norfolk, UK


Yes, that would be fine. As a bit of an aside, I posted an Access add-in here which allows you to do this without having to write any of your own code. The main feature of the add-in is to enable developers to treat tables and queries as proper objects rather than just as members of collections, but I also stuck in a module which allows you quick access to these Access Option. Even if you don't want to use the add-in as an add-in you might find it helpful to just copy the code from the SMOGOptions module in that add-in. Just open the SMOG.mda file and copy the SMOGOptions module to your own database (or as much of it as you want).
Go to the top of the page
 
nakumar11
post Sep 15 2009, 01:41 AM
Post#5



Posts: 3
Joined: 7-September 09



Thank you very much alan. Please help me in accessing ribbon name property under Access Option/Current Database. Based on the idea you have given for allowfullmenus, I tried for ribbon similarly. but some how I am unable to acheive it.
Go to the top of the page
 
alancossey
post Sep 15 2009, 02:00 AM
Post#6



Posts: 474
Joined: 26-September 05
From: Norfolk, UK


Public Property Get DatabaseRibbonName() As String
If HasDAOProperty(CurrentDb, "CustomRibbonID") = True Then
DatabaseRibbonName = CurrentDb.Properties("CustomRibbonID")
Else
DatabaseRibbonName = ""
End If
End Property
ublic Property Let DatabaseRibbonName(ByVal RibbonID As String)
SetPropertyDAO CurrentDb, "CustomRibbonID", dbText, RibbonID
End Property
Go to the top of the page
 


RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    22nd May 2015 - 06:27 AM