UtterAccess.com
We have detected that you are using an unsupported web browser. We recommend you to upgrade your web browser to get the most from UtterAccess forums.
Why should and how can I upgrade?
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can't enter data into a form field!    

teresamichele
post Oct 9 2009, 11:07 AM
Post #1

UtterAccess Member

I'll admit - I'm pretty new at Access so this is probably something simple to fix.
created a form for a database in Access 2003. There are 4 fields - the autonumber field, then three text fields. For some reason I can't type anything in the first of the text fields. I can't type in the autonumber box either, but that's to be expected.
The form isn't locked and I can't figure out why it won't let me enter the data. Help please!
Go to the top of the page

+
Bob_L
post Oct 9 2009, 11:17 AM
Post #2

Utterly Banned

Check to make sure that the
Allow Edits property of the form is set to YES.

+
JVanKirk
post Oct 9 2009, 11:21 AM
Post #3

UtterAccess VIP

Welcome to UA,
eyond Bob's suggestion, is the form just controlled by one table, or is it using a query for the control source? If a query, make sure the query is updateable.
Otherwise, you need to check for AllowEdits and AllowAdditions to be set to yes and make sure the control isn't locked inadvertantly or Enabled set to No, but you shouldn't even be able to enter the control if Enabled is set to no if I recall...
J

+
teresamichele
post Oct 9 2009, 11:25 AM
Post #4

UtterAccess Member

There actually isn't an "allow edits" field under Properties. There's an "allow auto-correct" and that's marked to yes.
Here's what's weird. I decided to play with it, to see if I could get it to work.