UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access Does Not Know How To Open An .accdr File, Access 2016    
 
   
johnp
post Nov 15 2017, 09:18 AM
Post#1



Posts: 206
Joined: 6-October 08
From: Maine


We just upgraded to Office 2016 on about 50 computers, Access runs fine on most of them. On 3 of them, Access did not initially know how to open .accdr files, it defaulted to adobe on opening the run time versions of my access databases.

I changed the 'open with' to Access but when opening these .accdr files on these 3 computers - for the specific users, I get an error indicating the file is a run time file and access needs to open it in run time mode. But it does not open properly.

If another user logs onto the computer, the same file opens fine. it is not an authority issue, rather I think that Access does not know to open an .accdr file in run time mode.

I looked at the default open options under the control panel for a user that the .accdr file opens with properly, it recognizes the .accdr format as a 'Microsoft Access Runtime Application'. If I look at the same file associations for the users having problems, it shows the .accdr file description as an ACCDR file.

Is this something that can be edited or changed within the registry? I am thinking I could delete the user's profile and recreate it again but that would be a pain as I'd have to save all of their data and stuff prior to wiping it out. I was hoping there is some sort of a registry setting I can change?

Oh, I tried doing and office repair and run all from my computer on these 3 pcs, but its almost like the first person who logged on and tried to open these .accdr files when it had the wrong open with file set, somehow messed it up for their profile, if another user logs on, after I fixed the open with to Access, it works fine for them. That is why I was thinking its something in the registry for that specific user.

and hopefully it can be reset or edited?
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Nov 15 2017, 09:57 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,447
Joined: 30-June 11



Try Albert's steps outlined in: https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us/office/...4d-12cc35e6f05e


You could also try

  • Click on the Start button
  • Click on Default programs
  • Click on Associate a file type or protocol with a specific program
  • Scroll down do .accdr and select it
  • Click Change Program
  • In the Open With dialog box, I click the ˅ to show Other Programs and Select Microsoft Access or use the Browse button to go navigate to the msaccess.exe file
  • Click OK
  • Then close the remain open dialogs

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...
Go to the top of the page
 
johnp
post Nov 15 2017, 11:18 AM
Post#3



Posts: 206
Joined: 6-October 08
From: Maine


Thanks, I had already tried that.

When I look at default programs under my user id or another persons whose works, it shows Microsoft Access as the application and the description shows Microsoft Access Runtime application.

When I look at it under the users profile where it does not open properly from, it shows Microsoft Access as the program but for the description it shows ACCDR File, not Microsoft Access Runtime application like it does for those who the accdr opens properly does.
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Nov 15 2017, 11:48 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,447
Joined: 30-June 11



Have you tried to set it to something else, and then reset it back to Access?

Personally, I'd backup the profile, then delete and recreate it and copy back over anything of importance.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    11th December 2017 - 03:50 PM