UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Calculated Field Result Does Not Appear In Field, Access 2010    

Gold
post Mar 13 2018, 03:56 PM
Post#1

I'm a beginner. I don't do much in Access. However, I have calculated a field before, but it will not work now. I have seen other posts about Access 2010 saying the same thing. I thought I would verify.

I work in research. I need a staff member in the field to enter 4 values in different fields (oneb, onec, twoa, threeb). The Access database will then calculate the total time (foura):

This is my code:

Private Sub foura_Click()

If onec = 1 Then oneb = oneb - 1

foura = (oneb * twoa) + threeb

End Sub

I do not get an error in the Vb window. However, my total value does not appear. It did once, but will not again.
I should also let you know that foura is a field in my table. Is that right? Actually, I tried a new field in the form and the same issue.

Thank you.
Go to the top of the page

RJD
post Mar 13 2018, 04:01 PM
Post#2

UtterAccess VIP

Hi: Are you trying to get the result to show in a form? If so, is the result control on the form bound or unbound to a field in the source table/query? (The calculation result should not be bound, it should be calculated when desired.)

HTH
Joe

--------------------
"Each problem that I solved became a rule, which served afterwards to solve other problems."
"You just keep pushing. You just keep pushing. I made every mistake that could be made. But I just kept pushing."

Rene Descartes 1596-1650 (Mathematician and Philosopher)

doctor9
post Mar 13 2018, 04:12 PM
Post#3

UtterAccess Editor

Gold,

First, if you REALLY think you need to use VBA, then this should be a Function, not a Subroutine:

CODE
Public Function foura(oneb As Variant, onec As Variant, twoa As Variant, threeb As Variant) As Variant

If onec = 1 Then oneb = oneb - 1