UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Form Filter By Combobox, Access 2010    

Delta729
post May 16 2018, 12:10 PM
Post#1

I'm not very good with Access and just trying to help create a database. I'm having a problem on my form, runtime error 94: and all the info I keep finding doesn't seem to help (but it's probably just me).

I have following code in after update event on my form. I know to it's something to do with Null values, but where do I put the Nz, or something else to make this work?

CODE
Private Sub cboFirmFilter_AfterUpdate()
    Dim strFirm As String

strFirm = Forms![TollingFrm]![fFirmID]
    DoCmd.ApplyFilter , "[fFirmID] LIKE '" & cboFirmFilter & "*'"

End Sub

I should also mention that the combobox is "cboFirmFilter" is unbound, but that's probably obvious to you all...
This post has been edited by Delta729: May 16 2018, 12:13 PM
Go to the top of the page

theDBguy
post May 16 2018, 12:15 PM
Post#2

Access Wiki and Forums Moderator

Hi,

You declared a variable called strFirm and then assigned a value to it, but I don't see where you're using it in your code.

As for the Nz() part, try using it this way:

CODE
strFirm = Nz(Forms![TollingFrm]![fFirmID])
DoCmd.ApplyFilter , "[fFirmID] Like '" & Nz(cboFirmFilter) & "*'"

Hope it helps...

Delta729
post May 16 2018, 12:22 PM
Post#3

Yep, that was it... I'm an idiot. I added the Nz part and then just removed the variable I declared. Thanks!

theDBguy
post May 16 2018, 12:24 PM
Post#4

Hi,

You're welcome. Glad to hear you got it sorted out. Good luck with your project.

Delta729
post May 16 2018, 12:57 PM
Post#5

For the next step on this database, I also need to filter by the "fReportID". They work dependently of each other, but not together.

I now have this for the combobox:
CODE
Private Sub cboFirmFilter_AfterUpdate()