UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Update Query Conversion Type Error, Access 2016    

Mouse11
post May 16 2018, 01:45 PM
Post#1

Hi All,

I am getting some errors with an update query I am working with.
The error is a Conversion Type Error. The field I am trying to update is a Number field type. It has a lookup combobox query so it displays text.
The table name is [Products] the field name is [pSection]

My query/SQL is:
SELECT [1932-47Inventory].pID, [1932-47Inventory].pSection, products.pID, products.pSection
FROM [1932-47Inventory] LEFT JOIN products ON [1932-47Inventory].[pID] = products.[pID];

Any suggestions on the best way to handle this? I am not very experienced but wanted to take a crack at this. I cant seem to find info that would help me.

Thank you all in advance.
J

Go to the top of the page

theDBguy
post May 16 2018, 01:56 PM
Post#2

Access Wiki and Forums Moderator

Hi,

What you have posted is not an UPDATE query. Are you sure this is the correct one?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email

cheekybuddha
post May 16 2018, 01:56 PM
Post#3

UtterAccess VIP

You've posted a SELECT query.

Is that the source of your combo box?

Please post the SQL of the UPDATE query as well.

d

--------------------

Regards,

David Marten

Mouse11
post May 16 2018, 02:05 PM
Post#4

lol, Sorry,

This is the update query below.
UPDATE Products INNER JOIN [1932-47Inventory] ON [Products].[pID]=[1932-47Inventory].[pID] SET Products.pSection = [1932-47Inventory].[pSection];

This is the combobox/lookup for the field [pSection] in the table [Products]
SELECT DISTINCTROW sections.sectionID, sections.sectionName, sections.sectionWorkingName
FROM sections