UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V < 1 2  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Union Query?, Access 2016    
 
   
GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 15 2018, 08:12 AM
Post#21


UA Admin
Posts: 33,477
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


And yes, I meant "can't".

I blame it on too much sunshine suddenly appearing in the window, blinding me momentarily and drawing my attention away from the monitor,

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Visit My Blog on Facebook
Go to the top of the page
 
sekonda40
post Jun 15 2018, 08:35 AM
Post#22



Posts: 49
Joined: 27-March 18
From: Taunton, UK


It's ok I read it in the correct context the first time.

I'm trying to get this data to transfer from my 'dump point' to my tables, do you think it would work with multiple append and update queries run in a sequence? Its where I have the competency held against the service number in one table and the data of evaluation and result held in another table.
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 15 2018, 08:58 AM
Post#23


UA Admin
Posts: 33,477
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


That strategy is the one I almost always adopt, yes.

It's replicable because the queries do the same thing every time you run the sequence, so you can tweak them as needed until you get exactly the result you want, and can reliably repeat that result.

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Visit My Blog on Facebook
Go to the top of the page
 
sekonda40
post Jun 15 2018, 09:22 AM
Post#24



Posts: 49
Joined: 27-March 18
From: Taunton, UK


So I've started with a select query to itemise who needs competency X. From there I have an append query to pull the service numbers and stick them into employee competency. I'm snagging on how to word the update query to make it so that those entries that have just been made are selected to competency X.
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 15 2018, 09:30 AM
Post#25


UA Admin
Posts: 33,477
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


The answer will be in the details of that SQL....

--------------------
My Real Name Is George. Grover Park Consulting is where I do business.
How to Ask a Good Question
Beginning SQL Server
Visit My Blog on Facebook
Go to the top of the page
 
John Vinson
post Jun 15 2018, 04:03 PM
Post#26


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,264
Joined: 6-January 07
From: Parma, Idaho, US


You can probably do it all with an Append Query based on a Union Query, with a criterion on each competency field to select only the relevant ones.

But the details depend on the structure of your "dump" table, and your target tables, which we cannot see from here!

--------------------
John W. Vinson
Wysard of Information
Go to the top of the page
 
sekonda40
post Jun 16 2018, 03:44 AM
Post#27



Posts: 49
Joined: 27-March 18
From: Taunton, UK


Hi John

I’ve posted my data in post #20. Is it not showing to you? So how would you use a union query I’ve never used one before, what context would it work within?

Cheers

Ross
Go to the top of the page
 
sekonda40
post Jun 27 2018, 11:58 AM
Post#28



Posts: 49
Joined: 27-March 18
From: Taunton, UK


Hi Guys

So it's taken a month so far, but I've now managed to create all the query's and macro's to transfer the data so that its held in a format similar to Bruce's post #4. I'm looking to be able to display the information to the end user and previously because I was in a flat file format it was easy to tell textbox X display the result equal to the user from column X.


Now what I need the text box to do is still to display the competency date from the new structure. I think I need the control source to look at employee competency and competency evaluation and from that filter the competency's, pull the value and display it, I'm just hitting a bit of brick wall about how to tell the control source to do that? should I use the expression builder or use query's?

Sorry I know this is a bit off topic but I didn't want to start a new topic and have to re-explain where I've come from.

Cheers

Ross

Attached File  user.jpg ( 317.08K )Number of downloads: 4
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V < 1 2


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    20th September 2018 - 05:38 AM