UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Linking To Access Database On Shared Drive, Office 2013    
 
   
worstever
post Jul 13 2017, 12:34 PM
Post#1



Posts: 9
Joined: 3-July 17



I am having the problem where I set up a connection that pulls 8 queries from Access and puts them into excel so I can use excel's graphing prowess. The problem is similar to the one mentioned here http://www.UtterAccess.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=2031756

I can hit a button that does "refresh all" on my computer and it works. But when I run it on my coworker's computer, it does not refresh.

I have implemented the solution that was mentioned in the link above, by mapping it to the network drive. However, I still cannot get it to work on my coworker's computer. Any advice would be appreciated. Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Jul 13 2017, 12:44 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,022
Joined: 30-June 11



What is the path you are using to link your tables with? You need to use UNC path format rather than a mapped drive designation.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this".
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good!


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...
Go to the top of the page
 
worstever
post Jul 13 2017, 12:55 PM
Post#3



Posts: 9
Joined: 3-July 17



Right, I did that (I think). So it was originally Z:\whatever and now I changed it to \\SFF0r\black\....

Do I need to link it to a database? So database.accdb? Or the source link, database.odc?
This post has been edited by worstever: Jul 13 2017, 12:57 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Jul 13 2017, 12:58 PM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,022
Joined: 30-June 11



Not sure, it depends on how things are setup in your Excel.

Do they receive any messages?
Do they have access to \\SUSSFF0r\black\....?

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this".
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good!


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...
Go to the top of the page
 
worstever
post Jul 13 2017, 01:36 PM
Post#5



Posts: 9
Joined: 3-July 17



No, there aren't any messages. It just doesn't actually refresh.
Go to the top of the page
 
dflak
post Jul 14 2017, 08:10 AM
Post#6


Utter Access VIP
Posts: 5,980
Joined: 22-June 04
From: North Carolina


What mechanism are you using to connect to the database? Data -> Import from Access or Data -> Other Sources -> MS-Query?

You should be using the *.accdb file.

--------------------
Dan

One spreadsheet to rule them all. One spreadsheet to find them. One spreadsheet to bring them all and at corporate, bind them.
Please zip and attach samples. It makes life easier for those who have to figure out what you are trying to do. Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    21st July 2017 - 07:49 AM