UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Lookup, Any Versions    
 
   
lex
post Aug 8 2017, 07:28 AM
Post#1



Posts: 637
Joined: 20-October 05



Others created the "InnovationCentral" list which has the below lookup and don't know how to show the many records within. I tried creating a main/subform setting the parent/child and it didn't work.

Attached File  InnovationCentral.png ( 62.72K )Number of downloads: 12


Does anyone have any thoughts?
Attached File(s)
Attached File  InnovationCentral.png ( 62.72K )Number of downloads: 6
 
Go to the top of the page
 
BuzyG
post Aug 8 2017, 07:46 AM
Post#2



Posts: 303
Joined: 20-September 12
From: Cornwall UK


I have been experimenting with sharepoint relationships recently. I still don't know enough to answer your question, however I found this from MS very helpfull.

https://support.office.com/en-gb/article/Cr...09-8bf16d490632

--------------------
Live to Surf
Go to the top of the page
 
lex
post Aug 9 2017, 04:01 PM
Post#3



Posts: 637
Joined: 20-October 05



Thanks for the link, but it doesn't quite say how to use the lookup in a subform.
I'll keep looking and will let you know if I find out. Likewise, please

Have a great day!
Go to the top of the page
 
RAZMaddaz
post Aug 10 2017, 07:45 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,477
Joined: 23-May 05
From: Bethesda, MD USA


PMFJI....


lex,

Please read the following: The Evils of Lookup Fields.

Thanks!

RAZMaddaz
Go to the top of the page
 
lex
post Aug 10 2017, 07:54 AM
Post#5



Posts: 637
Joined: 20-October 05



Thanks, RAZMaddaz. Unfortunately, I don't control this table - I'm just trying to use it.

I figured it out

Attached File  2017_08_10_8_52_15.png ( 57.76K )Number of downloads: 3


I aliased the original table (see above)

Thanks for your time ... sometimes I just need someone standing there to help push me to turn on my brain! smile.gif

Lex
Go to the top of the page
 
RAZMaddaz
post Aug 10 2017, 08:01 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,477
Joined: 23-May 05
From: Bethesda, MD USA


Lex,

Glad you got it working, but I would still recommend that you talk to the maker of the Database and change the Field(s) correctly.

yw.gif

RAZMaddaz
Go to the top of the page
 
lex
post Aug 10 2017, 08:12 AM
Post#7



Posts: 637
Joined: 20-October 05



Unfortunately, the person never responds - I'm talking to a wall. I'm not so sure that people in the SharePoint world understand database structures, normalization ...
From my reading, I don't think MS is designing SharePoint to promote that sort of thinking
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    24th August 2017 - 12:08 AM