UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access Services Read Only Message, Access 2013 Web App    
 
   
johnpdmccall
post Apr 18 2017, 12:50 PM
Post#1



Posts: 1,675
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Scotland


Hi Folks,

I've got a few urgent problems with some business critical Access Web Apps and Hybrids (AWA with ACCDB front end ) on Office 365

In my Access Web Apps I'm getting the error below when trying to edit and save anything:
Attached File  AccessServicesReadOnlyErr.JPG ( 25.68K )Number of downloads: 2


I get the same error if I open the accdw to customise in Access: It opens fine but if I open a table and try to edit any field the same message appears.

Also get an ODBC connection failure if I open the front end Access database that is connected to the AWA.

This is happening with all AWA's that I've built. All were working fine until this morning frown.gif

Grateful for any help. I'm already trying to get help from the O365 support folks but no joy so far


--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Apr 18 2017, 01:07 PM
Post#2


UA Admin
Posts: 29,104
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


If you can get to the O365 site where these AWAs exist, check the server health under your admin pages for problems.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Apr 18 2017, 01:12 PM
Post#3



Posts: 1,675
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Scotland


I'm getting this George:

Attached File  ServiceHealth.JPG ( 37.16K )Number of downloads: 9


I'm not using Project Online
This post has been edited by johnpdmccall: Apr 18 2017, 01:30 PM

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Apr 18 2017, 01:32 PM
Post#4



Posts: 1,675
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Scotland


I can't connect to any data on sharepoint lists (Access 2010 web app / accdb front end)
This post has been edited by johnpdmccall: Apr 18 2017, 01:33 PM

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Apr 18 2017, 03:05 PM
Post#5


UA Admin
Posts: 29,104
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


That indicates some sort of issue with SP in your region. I have the same status, but my AWAs seem to be okay.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Apr 18 2017, 05:28 PM
Post#6



Posts: 1,675
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Scotland


Hi George

You are correct! - I just got off the phone to Microsoft who say they've been having issues which they're getting fixed asap.
My next step is to get my AWA's moved to SQL Azure, or SharePoint lists or maybe to Rob's company set up if they come up with a reasonably affordable solution.

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Apr 18 2017, 05:38 PM
Post#7


UA Admin
Posts: 29,104
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


1) Migrating to SQL Azure is easy-peazy. But then the interface has to be redone for browser-based interfaces.
Of course, for accdb-based interfaces it's a matter or relinking your tables once they're moved.

2) SharePoint lists may or may not be a feasible alternative. If you have large numbers of records in your current tables, they might not migrate too well to SP lists, but they will support accdb-based interfaces.

3) That would be cool.


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Apr 19 2017, 04:03 AM
Post#8



Posts: 1,675
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Scotland


Thanks George, that info is very useful. I'd already played about with exporting to sharepoint lists but had no idea about depac.
Incidentally Microsoft is still working on the original problem and I have some very unhappy users. So I think SQL Azure it has to be!

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
RobKoelmans
post Apr 19 2017, 08:54 AM
Post#9



Posts: 387
Joined: 25-November 14
From: Groningen, Netherlands


Hi John,
Do you have both Access 2010 web pages as AWA's? We haven't considered support of Access 2010 database apps and it's not likely that we will, unless it'll appear to be completely trivial.
Rob.
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Apr 19 2017, 12:14 PM
Post#10



Posts: 1,675
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Scotland


Yes Rob but we're not going to support them either in future as mostly our customers don't use the web interface very much.

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Apr 21 2017, 08:07 AM
Post#11



Posts: 1,675
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Scotland


OK just for info:
Microsoft still have not solved the problem, whatever it is!!! pullhair.gif

So I've worked around it by starting another Office 365 account and have moved the data to there by:

1. Localised the data in each of my connected accdbs (the data was read only on the server but localised happily enough)
2, Created some empty Access Web Apps
3. Imported the tables from my localised accdbs
4. Connected the old access database to the data on the Access Web Apps using a .dsn containing the connection information for the apps

This was very quick and easy - it's a pity Microsoft can't provide a similar easy way of getting data onto a SQL database on Azure- because I'm trying to get my head around importing to a SQL database on Azure and it seems much more difficult. In fact one set of data which imported very easily into an AWA has proved very difficult to import or export to SQL on Azure.


--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Apr 21 2017, 09:33 AM
Post#12


UA Admin
Posts: 29,104
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Check out my blog article on migrating data from an AWA to SQL Azure with a dacpac.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
johnpdmccall
post Apr 21 2017, 10:29 AM
Post#13



Posts: 1,675
Joined: 14-March 00
From: Scotland


Good one thanks George.

--------------------
Cheers,
John
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    25th April 2017 - 11:22 AM