UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ms Access Not Allowing Datetime Data Type, Access 2010    
 
   
Kamulegeya
post May 23 2018, 12:55 PM
Post#1



Posts: 1,798
Joined: 5-September 10
From: Kampala,Uganda The Pearl of Africa


Hello Friends,

on a certain Laptop, Ms Access does not allow date/time data..

I created a db...all been working well.

So today i get a brand new HP Probook....win 10.

I try to enter date data type, i receive an error message that i have entered a wrong data type in the field.

I think..may be corruption...i do C&R . I try again, same error.

I create a new table, define one field as data/time and try data entry direct in the table...i get error message(see screen shots).

Has any one ever experienced such?

Any hints on how to solve it?
Ronald
Attached File(s)
Attached File  err_2.png ( 160.47K )Number of downloads: 13
Attached File  err_1.png ( 145.27K )Number of downloads: 12
 
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post May 23 2018, 01:08 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,950
Joined: 30-June 11



Is there a difference in regional settings between the various PCs?

Did you make the entry manually or with the default date picker?


--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...(you are responsible for your choices and actions)
Go to the top of the page
 
Kamulegeya
post May 23 2018, 01:23 PM
Post#3



Posts: 1,798
Joined: 5-September 10
From: Kampala,Uganda The Pearl of Africa


Hi Daniel,

Regional Settings are the same(We use British Date formats).

I made date entry using the date picker.

Ronald
Go to the top of the page
 
JonSmith
post May 23 2018, 01:43 PM
Post#4



Posts: 3,408
Joined: 19-October 10



Have you tried using a date like 01/01/01

If the table already has a date in it then how is it displayed?
Go to the top of the page
 
Kamulegeya
post May 23 2018, 02:01 PM
Post#5



Posts: 1,798
Joined: 5-September 10
From: Kampala,Uganda The Pearl of Africa


Hi Smith,

Tried 01/01/01...and got same error.

Existing data is in form dd/mm/yyyy as per screen shot.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  ERR3.png ( 198.31K )Number of downloads: 11
 
Go to the top of the page
 
JonSmith
post May 24 2018, 05:10 AM
Post#6



Posts: 3,408
Joined: 19-October 10



I'm sorry then, I'm somewhat stumped by this. The only other suggestions I have are trying to enter it with some different date separators such as - or .
Perhaps trying to see if it can be entered via a form instead of directly in a table or in an update query, append query etc, see if anything can be done in code.
Basically experiment with as many different methods and see what does and doesn't work incase some sort of pattern emerges.

JS
Go to the top of the page
 
Kamulegeya
post May 24 2018, 07:07 AM
Post#7



Posts: 1,798
Joined: 5-September 10
From: Kampala,Uganda The Pearl of Africa


JS,

I am defeated .....tried all your suggestions....all failed

I have to use text data type for dates.....

It is very strange!
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    20th June 2018 - 01:59 PM