UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Unable To Print Form, Access 2016    
 
   
kerrylhanley
post Apr 20 2017, 12:40 PM
Post#1



Posts: 58
Joined: 28-April 03
From: Rochester, NY


I need to print a form for training purposes to be included in an employee manual.

When I view the print preview the only parts of the form that appear are the header and the footer. Everything else is blank. It's the same when I send it to the printer.

Every help article I've found says you should simply be able to use the print command from the file menu and print what you're seeing on the screen. Is there some setting I'm missing?

Thanks,
Kerry
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Screenshot4.jpg ( 181.62K )Number of downloads: 5
Attached File  Screenshot3.jpg ( 128.68K )Number of downloads: 4
 
Go to the top of the page
 
Dan Dungan
post Apr 20 2017, 01:04 PM
Post#2



Posts: 242
Joined: 20-July 10
From: chatsworth, ca


Hi Kerry,

My understanding is that reports are for printing--not forms.

On a windows keyboard, I would use Shift + Print Screen SysRq and paste into a word document.

Then you can print that and put it in your manual.
This post has been edited by Dan Dungan: Apr 20 2017, 01:04 PM

--------------------
Dan
Go to the top of the page
 
jwhite
post Apr 20 2017, 01:15 PM
Post#3


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,801
Joined: 31-August 06
From: North Carolina, USA


To capture and display forms for use in a manual or guide, use a Screen Capture utility, such as Greenshot. Then you can import the image into your document and format the size accordingly.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
kerrylhanley
post Apr 20 2017, 02:29 PM
Post#4



Posts: 58
Joined: 28-April 03
From: Rochester, NY


Thanks for the suggestions. I had thought of using a screen capture, but unfortunately my form is much longer than my monitor, so I cannot capture it all in one shot.

I tried the Greenshot, but it doesn't look like it supports this feature.
Go to the top of the page
 
GlenKruger
post Apr 20 2017, 02:32 PM
Post#5


Utterly Crispy UA Forum Administrator
Posts: 8,764
Joined: 29-September 01
From: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada


How to print form with code

This may help you to send form to printer

--------------------
Human nature, it is a funny thing and the hardest thing to program to prevent.
Glen Kruger KNKConsulting
MS Access MVP 2013-2017| Wrox Techincal Contributor
Go to the top of the page
 
kerrylhanley
post Apr 21 2017, 09:53 AM
Post#6



Posts: 58
Joined: 28-April 03
From: Rochester, NY


Thank you. I tried that, and I still only get the header and footer printing out. It's so frustrating!
Go to the top of the page
 
GlenKruger
post Apr 21 2017, 12:10 PM
Post#7


Utterly Crispy UA Forum Administrator
Posts: 8,764
Joined: 29-September 01
From: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada


Hi can you check the property sheet for the form/subforms to see if Fast Laser Printing is set to yes.
You will find this setting under the tab Other of forms properties.

--------------------
Human nature, it is a funny thing and the hardest thing to program to prevent.
Glen Kruger KNKConsulting
MS Access MVP 2013-2017| Wrox Techincal Contributor
Go to the top of the page
 
jwhite
post Apr 21 2017, 12:27 PM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,801
Joined: 31-August 06
From: North Carolina, USA


SnagIt has an option to capture a scrolling window, and I believe they give a 30-day trial.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
GlenKruger
post Apr 21 2017, 12:52 PM
Post#9


Utterly Crispy UA Forum Administrator
Posts: 8,764
Joined: 29-September 01
From: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada


Not sure if Windows 10 Snipping Tool will scroll a window but it's free.

--------------------
Human nature, it is a funny thing and the hardest thing to program to prevent.
Glen Kruger KNKConsulting
MS Access MVP 2013-2017| Wrox Techincal Contributor
Go to the top of the page
 
mike60smart
post Apr 22 2017, 10:24 AM
Post#10


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 12,252
Joined: 6-June 05
From: Dunbar,Scotland


Hi Glen

Just for info the Snipping Tool does NOT allow for scrolling a window

--------------------
Hope this helps?

Mike

Get happiness out of your work or you may never know what happiness is.

Go to the top of the page
 
GlenKruger
post Apr 22 2017, 10:52 AM
Post#11


Utterly Crispy UA Forum Administrator
Posts: 8,764
Joined: 29-September 01
From: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada


thanks.gif for the info Mike. I never use it so wasn't sure.

--------------------
Human nature, it is a funny thing and the hardest thing to program to prevent.
Glen Kruger KNKConsulting
MS Access MVP 2013-2017| Wrox Techincal Contributor
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    18th October 2017 - 12:53 AM