UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Could Not Use File Already In Use Access Error, Access 2013    
 
   
NaviChandu
post Jul 15 2017, 01:47 PM
Post#1



Posts: 72
Joined: 19-January 17



Hi All,

I have my database in LAN.

I have split the database into Front end and Back end. The queries and Forms are in Front end. I am getting an error could not use file already in use access (the backend path name is mentioned).

I created a database with a table - employee. Then created a front end database and linked the employee table. Copied the front end database to my desktop and my friends desktop. We both were able to open the database without any error. But when I tried opening the table One of us got an error database is in use.
How can I resolve the issue. I have read many articles, not sure how to get the folder setting where the back end database is paced.

I do not have admin rights and I need to contact the technical team to get required folder access.

Please suggest the how to resolve the issue.

Regards,
Naveen N
Go to the top of the page
 
RuralGuy
post Jul 15 2017, 02:51 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,790
Joined: 25-June 05
From: @ 8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains


Under File>Options>Client Settings>Advanced
How to you have your Default Open Mode set?

--------------------
(RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13 - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro, Win10 Pro
Please reply to the forum so all may benefit.
Go to the top of the page
 
NaviChandu
post Jul 16 2017, 12:39 PM
Post#3



Posts: 72
Joined: 19-January 17



Hi,

The default open mode is SHARED.

Regards,
Naveen n
Go to the top of the page
 
RuralGuy
post Jul 16 2017, 12:44 PM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 2,790
Joined: 25-June 05
From: @ 8300' in the Colorado Rocky Mountains


Everyone using the back end needs to have full access to the BE folder. Read, write, delete, etc. It sounds line a permission issue with the BE folder.

--------------------
(RG for short) aka Allan Bunch Previous MS Access MVP acXP, ac07, ac10, ac13 - WinXP Pro, Win7 Pro, Win10 Pro
Please reply to the forum so all may benefit.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    20th September 2017 - 09:40 AM