UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> A Little Help With Next Step, Please, Access 2016    

PhilnTx
post Jul 17 2017, 09:13 AM
Post#1

Hi All,
I’m new to Access 2016, and every other programming language, but I’m learning bit-by-bit.

I have a database with over 250,000 lon/lat points and about 4,000 polygons. The goal is to identify which points are in which polygons. The VBA code below works in finding multiple points within a single polygon, but I need help in taking it to the next step of now searching multiple polygons.
Attached is a picture and a Acces-2000 mdb
If there is a better method to approach this issue - please let me know.

Thanks so much in advance

CODE
Option Explicit

Public Function PtInPoly(Xcoord As Double, Ycoord As Double) As Variant
Dim X As Long, inPoly As String, NumSidesCrossed As Long, m As Double, b As Double, Poly As Variant
Dim Xx As Long, Yy As Long, Xupper As Long, Yupper As Long, tempArray As Variant
Dim dbs As DAO.Database
Dim Polyrst As DAO.Recordset

Set dbs = CurrentDb
Set Polyrst = dbs.OpenRecordset("SELECT x_nodes, y_nodes ,Poly_ID FROM Poly_ID_2only", dbOpenSnapshot)
    With Polyrst
        .MoveLast
        .MoveFirst
        Poly = .GetRows(.RecordCount)
    End With
'--- Problem is GetRows() returns a bass ackwards array, the code below fixes this -----------------
    Xupper = UBound(Poly, 2)
    Yupper = UBound(Poly, 1)

ReDim tempArray(Xupper, Yupper)
    For Xx = 0 To Xupper
        For Yy = 0 To Yupper
             tempArray(Xx, Yy) = Poly(Yy, Xx)
        Next Yy
    Next Xx
    Poly = tempArray
'-----------------------------------------------------------
Debug.Print UBound(Poly) + 1 & " records retrieved."
    For X = LBound(Poly) To UBound(Poly) - 1
        If Poly(X, 0) > Xcoord Xor Poly(X + 1, 0) > Xcoord Then