UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Migration To 64bit Compatible, Access 2013    
 
   
Psycoperl
post Jul 17 2017, 09:34 AM
Post#1



Posts: 36
Joined: 11-March 15



Hello! I am in the process of migrating some VBA code to be compatible with 64Bit Office as we are transitioning to newer computers and 64 bit Windows/Office.

I have come across some Declare statements that I am not sure if they would be 64bit compatible/safe. So before I add the "PtrSafe" flag to the statements, I was hoping to get some feedback from the community.

The three declare statements that I have are:

CODE
Declare Function aht_apiGetOpenFileName Lib "comdlg32.dll" _
    Alias "GetOpenFileNameA" (OFN As tagOPENFILENAME) As Boolean


CODE
Declare Function aht_apiGetSaveFileName Lib "comdlg32.dll" _
    Alias "GetSaveFileNameA" (OFN As tagOPENFILENAME) As Boolean


CODE
Declare Function CommDlgExtendedError Lib "comdlg32.dll" () As Long


Any thoughts?

Thanks
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jul 17 2017, 10:13 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,013
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Have you checked it over in our API Wiki?

Hope it helps...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jul 17 2017, 10:27 AM
Post#3


UA Admin
Posts: 30,971
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


The transition to 64bit Office has been fully evaluated and is being undertaken for solid reasons? Not just because it's 64bit so it must be better than 32bit?


--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
Psycoperl
post Jul 17 2017, 11:06 AM
Post#4



Posts: 36
Joined: 11-March 15



@groverparkgeorge - The transition is because some computers that we want to run this on are running MSO 64bit and we are unable to request them to be downgraded; additionally when our IT department migrates us to a newer OS - they by default include 64bit MSO in the image.
Go to the top of the page
 
Psycoperl
post Jul 17 2017, 11:07 AM
Post#5



Posts: 36
Joined: 11-March 15



Thanks -- good to know.

Have a good one.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jul 17 2017, 11:12 AM
Post#6


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,013
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

You're welcome. Good luck. If you don't find one you need but later found a solution, please fell free to add it/them to the Wiki. Cheers!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jul 17 2017, 11:13 AM
Post#7


UA Admin
Posts: 30,971
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


IMO, that is the lazy way for IT to go. No chance to evaluate whether it makes sense for users or not, but it does make it easier for IT....

Good luck with the transition.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th November 2017 - 10:53 AM