UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Temporarily Disable, SharePoint 2013    
 
   
Brwnsgr
post Jan 8 2018, 03:09 PM
Post#1



Posts: 90
Joined: 5-September 08
From: Alberta, Canada


This question pertains to SharePoint 365 and I'm a self taught SP newbie.

I have a SP split database that works but my client wants to keep it as a backup and only use it in the event that the NonSP database has a major problem.......it's a very long painful story....

Users have the SP FE and know that they aren't supposed to use it unless directed to do so but we want to be able to "Turn it off" until it becomes necessary to use it.
Removing the Users is not an option
Changing User permissions for the page is not an option
Removing the Lists is not an option

I tried changing the names of the Lists but the FE works with them anyway....

There are three lists that are critical to the functionality of the database. Is there a Permission in those Lists that I can easily toggle?
This post has been edited by Brwnsgr: Jan 8 2018, 03:09 PM

--------------------
Thanks for the brainwaves,

Claire
"Beam me up Scotty!.......Please!!!"
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jan 8 2018, 03:14 PM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,420
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Claire,

If you're trying to prevent the use of the FE until certain condition is met, then perhaps it is easier to control this from the FE rather than from SP.

For example, when the FE opens up, you can run a check if they are supposed to use it or not based on the "emergency" condition. One way to do this is to create a new List in SP and simply add one column and one record in it. The FE can check the first item on this new List and then shutdown or proceed based on what it says.

Hope it helps...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
Brwnsgr
post Jan 8 2018, 03:35 PM
Post#3



Posts: 90
Joined: 5-September 08
From: Alberta, Canada


Thanks DBGuy, that is definitely an option.

Due to the size of the corporation, we are trying to avoid sending out another FE so I was hoping something that was easy to just turn on or off would be available.
If not then a new FE would be the way to go.

--------------------
Thanks for the brainwaves,

Claire
"Beam me up Scotty!.......Please!!!"
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jan 8 2018, 03:42 PM
Post#4


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,420
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

If the FE is not aware of any changes to the requirements, it's a little harder to implement something without modifying the FE. Otherwise, manipulating the BE only will either make the FE unusable or ignore the new requirement.

But hopefully, someone else could come up with a simpler solution.

Good luck!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
Brwnsgr
post Jan 8 2018, 03:51 PM
Post#5



Posts: 90
Joined: 5-September 08
From: Alberta, Canada


I'm actually OK with the FE not working properly when it first starts......not elegant but it would do the trick.
I had tried changing the List names but the FE worked anyway.......

--------------------
Thanks for the brainwaves,

Claire
"Beam me up Scotty!.......Please!!!"
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jan 8 2018, 03:57 PM
Post#6


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,420
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Perhaps the reason why the FE worked is because Access is smart enough to store/cache a copy of the data, so it can work offline. I think there is a setting to tell Access not to do this, but it would also mean touching/modifying the FE.


--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th January 2018 - 10:36 PM