UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Problems Attaching Files    
 
   
bakersburg9
post Jun 9 2018, 09:00 PM
Post#1



Posts: 5,143
Joined: 2-November 04
From: Downey, CA


Has anyone else experienced problems attaching files to your UA posts ? I've been a member for MANY years, and only recently I'm having this problem pullhair.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Jun 10 2018, 03:02 AM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,973
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


Are you remembering to zip them first?

And after zipping, check that they are less than 2MB in size?

hth,

d

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jun 10 2018, 10:37 AM
Post#3


UA Admin
Posts: 32,787
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Perhaps you could offer specific details about the files you tried to attach (as David mentions) and how you tried to attach them (using the upload function?) and what the result was, i.e. an error message, nothing happened, etc.?

That way we could possibly try to identify a problem that could be addressed.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
bakersburg9
post Jun 10 2018, 04:30 PM
Post#4



Posts: 5,143
Joined: 2-November 04
From: Downey, CA


OK, it's the whole bring your car into the mechanic thing that automatically fixes it, or the help desk power off/power on thing :-( I know it wasn't operator error, because I've always known you have to zip, always known you have a 2MB size limit... just one of those wierd things....
Attached File(s)
Attached File  GetDataFromWorksheets.zip ( 20.48K )Number of downloads: 4
 
Go to the top of the page
 
bakersburg9
post Jun 10 2018, 05:44 PM
Post#5



Posts: 5,143
Joined: 2-November 04
From: Downey, CA


Now it seems to work for some odd reason

What the first macro does is copy values from 3 different locations on 3 different worksheets - the only valid one is the one with six digits, which I want copied to K2

CODE
If Range("A2").Value > Len(5) Then
Range("A2").Copy
Range("K2").Select
Selection.Paste

Else

If Range("B2").Value > Len(5) Then
Range("B2").Copy
Range("K2").Select
Selection.Paste

Else

If Range("C2").Value > Len(5) Then
Range("C2").Copy
Range("K2").Select
Selection.Paste

End If
End If
End If

Else
'do nothing
I get an error that says "Can't assign a value to that selection"

EDIT There was a problem with my code, which I fixed, but still the error.... thank goodness I can FINALLY post examples ! :-)
This post has been edited by bakersburg9: Jun 10 2018, 05:49 PM
Attached File(s)
Attached File  GetDataFromWorksheets6DigitNumUpdated.zip ( 20.71K )Number of downloads: 0
 
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Jun 11 2018, 06:11 AM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,973
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


>> If Range("A2").Value > Len(5) Then <<

This is wrong! (and the other versions)

CODE
If Len(Range("A2").Value) > 5 Then


Easier to write:
CODE
If Len(Range("A2").Value) > 5 Then
  Range("K2").Value = Range("A2").Value
Else
  If Len(Range("B2").Value) > 5 Then
    Range("K2").Value = Range("B2").Value
' ... etc


Or:
CODE
Dim cols As Variant, i As Integer

cols = Array("A", "B", "C")
For i = LBound(cols) To UBound(cols)
  If Len(Range(cols(i) & "2").Value) > 5 Then
    Range("K2").Value = Range(cols(i) & "2").Value
    Exit For
  End If
Next i


hth,

d

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    19th June 2018 - 08:59 PM