UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Resize Database At Different Resolution, Access 2013    
 
   
raphael99
post Dec 8 2017, 02:48 PM
Post#1



Posts: 123
Joined: 24-May 15



My wife has a screen resolution 1440x900.
My database wrote for her need a resolution of 1680x1050.
Is there anything I can do for run fine the database?
Thanks to all
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 8 2017, 02:52 PM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 72,430
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


The "best" approach is to design your form using the lowest resolution where it will be used. It is easier for a form to expand in size than to contract.

Just my 2 cents...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
ADezii
post Dec 8 2017, 03:02 PM
Post#3



Posts: 1,896
Joined: 4-February 07
From: USA, Florida, Delray Beach


If you designed the DB at a Resolution of 1680x1050, you can use this as a 'Base Resolution' and Resize all Controls on another PC based on that PC's Resolution. The down side is that this would involve multiple API Calls and the Coding would be rather complex. I'll see if I can find an appropriate Link and return here with it.

Refer to Post# 5 in the following Thread:
Referenced Code
This post has been edited by ADezii: Dec 8 2017, 03:08 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
raphael99
post Dec 8 2017, 06:07 PM
Post#4



Posts: 123
Joined: 24-May 15



mmmh.. so I have to re-build the finished database? No escapes?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 8 2017, 08:46 PM
Post#5


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 72,430
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Well, you could try the link ADezii posted earlier.

Good luck!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
raphael99
post Dec 9 2017, 05:09 AM
Post#6



Posts: 123
Joined: 24-May 15



It seems it works great. But there is a point. The background image I incorporated doe not fit the application size. I shrinked but not avail. I maximized but not avail. I tried also to custom size for application itself-
Is there something I'm missing?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 9 2017, 12:55 PM
Post#7


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 72,430
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Did you try to set the Picture Size Mode to Stretch?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
raphael99
post Dec 9 2017, 02:29 PM
Post#8



Posts: 123
Joined: 24-May 15



I tried all the possibilities. Ending to set the preferred resolution screen and start to write down the forms.
It is a pity because the method suggested was very interesting.
Anyway thnaks to all notworthy.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 9 2017, 03:26 PM
Post#9


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 72,430
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

You're welcome. Sorry we couldn't solve your problem. However, as I said earlier, it is so much easier for Access Forms to resize to a bigger than a smaller size. So, once you are done downsizing your form, you can still use the technique you learned to resize the application to higher resolutions.

Good luck with your project.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
ADezii
post Dec 10 2017, 11:58 AM
Post#10



Posts: 1,896
Joined: 4-February 07
From: USA, Florida, Delray Beach


QUOTE
The background image I incorporated does not fit the application size.

Just out of curiosity, does this 'background image' exist as an Embedded Graphic as defined by the Form's Picture Property? If so, it seems odd that the Picture Size Mode adjustment suggested by theDBguy would not work.
This post has been edited by ADezii: Dec 10 2017, 11:59 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
raphael99
post Dec 10 2017, 01:24 PM
Post#11



Posts: 123
Joined: 24-May 15



Yes it is embedded. I don't have Stretch option. I only have a similar command I think it is the same "Zoom". Anyway (my access is in italian) I have tried all the options in size imagine. If you post a screenshot of your access size imagine maybe I'm able to have mistaken command.
Otherwise with Zoom the result it is the same

The resutl anyway with your code is very impressive
This post has been edited by raphael99: Dec 10 2017, 01:26 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Dec 10 2017, 03:59 PM
Post#12


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 72,430
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Check out the below image:

Attached File  style.png ( 22.35K )Number of downloads: 2


The Picture Size Mode defaults to "Clip." Click on the dropdown arrow and select "Stretch."

Are you saying you don't see the same thing as the above image? If so, can you please post an image from your Form? Thanks.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
raphael99
post Dec 11 2017, 12:57 AM
Post#13



Posts: 123
Joined: 24-May 15



For me Stretch is "Ridimensiona" As I tried:

Attached File  utter_access.jpg ( 40.86K )Number of downloads: 7





And the effect is the follow:

Attached File  example.jpg ( 231.94K )Number of downloads: 10





Sorry for not to be able to post as DBGuy is...


Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    21st June 2018 - 06:48 PM