UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V  1 2 >  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Resizing a Bitmap Picture    
 
   
azizrasul
post Oct 6 2009, 04:15 AM
Post#1



Posts: 1,351
Joined: 18-July 00
From: Faisalabad, Pakistan


I have a bitmap file which I use as a logo on an Access form. However the image is larger than I want it to be. How do I resize it so that it's say 20% smaller?

I have attached the file.
Edited by: azizrasul on Tue Oct 6 5:16:58 EDT 2009.
Go to the top of the page
 
Willem
post Oct 6 2009, 04:37 AM
Post#2



Posts: 467
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Amersfoort, The Netherlands


Hi,

You did not attach anything.

Odon't think you can resize a picture in Access, you'll have to use an image editor for that (e.g. IrfanView, small, free & good! http://www.irfanview.com/)

HTH! thumbup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
azizrasul
post Oct 6 2009, 05:10 AM
Post#3



Posts: 1,351
Joined: 18-July 00
From: Faisalabad, Pakistan


Thanks Willem, I tried the software and it worked. Yehaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa.
Go to the top of the page
 
Willem
post Oct 6 2009, 05:18 AM
Post#4



Posts: 467
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Amersfoort, The Netherlands


Glad I could help out!
love IrfanView, very awesome software sad.gif
thumbup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
azizrasul
post Oct 6 2009, 05:49 AM
Post#5



Posts: 1,351
Joined: 18-July 00
From: Faisalabad, Pakistan


One thing I did find was that the quality of the new smaller image wasn't as good as the original?
Go to the top of the page
 
Willem
post Oct 6 2009, 05:59 AM
Post#6



Posts: 467
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Amersfoort, The Netherlands


Hmm, that should not be the case.
I was the new picture saved in the same format? (e.g. if the big picture is a bmp-picture, did you save it after resizing it as as a bmp-picture?
- perhaps you need to 'sharpen' the picture a little, in you can check this option in the resize/resample-dialog.
- the DPI is the same? (I have that on 400)
Go to the top of the page
 
azizrasul
post Oct 6 2009, 07:29 AM
Post#7



Posts: 1,351
Joined: 18-July 00
From: Faisalabad, Pakistan


Same format, and I used resize/resample option as you suggested. The DPI I kept the same at 72.
Go to the top of the page
 
azizrasul
post Oct 6 2009, 07:34 AM
Post#8



Posts: 1,351
Joined: 18-July 00
From: Faisalabad, Pakistan


If I convert the bmp file to a jpg file and then resize, it's better.
Go to the top of the page
 
Willem
post Oct 6 2009, 07:39 AM
Post#9



Posts: 467
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Amersfoort, The Netherlands


Hmm, odd... perhaps the bmp was originaly a jpg?
id you check as resize-method 'resample' or 'resize'? (lower right corner of the resize-dialog) You should use resample.
If you attach the logo I would gladly try it out myself.
Go to the top of the page
 
doctor9
post Oct 6 2009, 09:02 AM
Post#10


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 17,913
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Wisconsin


Azizrasul,

If you reduce a bitmap image by 20%, then whichever image program you're using is going to try to do a lot of math to figure out how to re-draw your logo's pixels. Depending on the complexity of your logo, this could be problematic. Depending on how many pixels across/down your bitmap is, there may not be enough information for your image editor to work with.

Does your company have your logo stored in a scalable (non-pixel-based) format, like Adobe Illustrator or Windows Metafile? If so, I'd recommend creating a new, rescaled bitmap image from THAT.

Dennis
Go to the top of the page
 
Willem
post Oct 6 2009, 09:18 AM
Post#11



Posts: 467
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Amersfoort, The Netherlands


Hi Dennis,
fcourse you're right, one cannot reduce bmp's without losing some quality.
Non-pixel-based formats like .eps are the best.
However, I am convinced that you can rescale bmp's in such a way that there is not much quality-loss.
Go to the top of the page
 
doctor9
post Oct 6 2009, 09:29 AM
Post#12


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 17,913
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Wisconsin


Willem,
My point is that if the bmp is 100 pixels by 100 pixels, and/or there are one-pixel-wide lines in the logo, there's a good chance that they'll get lost in re-scaling.
Dennis
Go to the top of the page
 
Willem
post Oct 6 2009, 09:36 AM
Post#13



Posts: 467
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Amersfoort, The Netherlands


Yeah: you're right.
Go to the top of the page
 
azizrasul
post Oct 6 2009, 10:00 AM
Post#14



Posts: 1,351
Joined: 18-July 00
From: Faisalabad, Pakistan


I have attached the jpg and bmp files.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  RSL Logo Large.zip ( 8.37K )Number of downloads: 23
 
Go to the top of the page
 
doctor9
post Oct 6 2009, 12:42 PM
Post#15


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 17,913
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Wisconsin


(Well, I was only off by 25 pixels...)
ziz, does your company have larger files with the logo? Preferably a scalable format (not BMP or JPG)? Maybe your marketing department?
125 pixels square is just too small an image to try re-scaling. On the other hand, a scalable (or at least a much larger) file that is scaled directly to a BMP in the size you want (by the way, what size DO you want the new logo to be? 100x100?), will most likely yield better results.
Hope this helps,
Dennis
Go to the top of the page
 
doctor9
post Oct 6 2009, 12:49 PM
Post#16


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 17,913
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Wisconsin


I've attached a sort of counter-proposal...
tried re-scaling it in Photoshop CS2 using every different rescaling method available, and they all looked "jaggy" because of the one-pixel-wide lines.
The attached file is the exact same image, only CROPPED to 100x100 pixels. You have less white space around the logo, but it still looks nice.
Dennis
Attached File(s)
Attached File  RSL Logo 100x100.zip ( 3.98K )Number of downloads: 13
 
Go to the top of the page
 
Willem
post Oct 6 2009, 02:48 PM
Post#17



Posts: 467
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Amersfoort, The Netherlands


Hi Dennis,
uperb! sad.gif You've beat me to it sad.gif You've made a nice logo, the quality is very acceptable (although a bigger scalable logo would produce even nicer results ofcourse).
thumbup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
CyberCow
post Oct 6 2009, 08:18 PM
Post#18


UdderAccess Admin + UA Ruler
Posts: 19,555
Joined: 27-April 02
From: Upper MI


*.EMF files work a treat too!
Leban's Transparent will turn a BMP into an .emf file type.
hope this helps
Go to the top of the page
 
azizrasul
post Oct 7 2009, 05:45 AM
Post#19



Posts: 1,351
Joined: 18-July 00
From: Faisalabad, Pakistan


Dennis, The logo I attached was the original logo file I use on the Splash form. What I want to do now is to use the same logo but a smaller version of it which I want to place in each of the other forms on the top right hand corner.
The 100x100 file you gave me was much clearer and sharper than my original, which is great. All I need is the same logo but say half the size. If you can direct me as to how to do that, that would be just great.
Looking at *.emf files to see what that does.
Go to the top of the page
 
Willem
post Oct 7 2009, 07:49 AM
Post#20



Posts: 467
Joined: 18-April 06
From: Amersfoort, The Netherlands


Hi Aziz,
Please see attached (a bmp- & jpg-version). I've reduced the size in a quick & dirty manner, do you find the quality sufficient enough?
Attached File(s)
Attached File  RSL Logo Small.zip ( 9.38K )Number of downloads: 30
 
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V  1 2 >


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    11th December 2017 - 05:48 PM