UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New To Writing A Wiki Article...    

jleach
post Mar 29 2010, 09:29 AM
Post#1

UtterAccess Editor

Hi all,
I was browsing around on the Wiki this morning and came to a link for a page that doesn't exist yet (naming conventions), and thought hey, I can write something about that.
So I've never written a Wiki article before, but as we speak I have another tab opened with a couple paragraphs. I suppose I have a few questions...
1) is there a way I can preview this article before it is actually posted in the wiki? I'm not confident enough to write it up in the editor and click GO without wondering what it's going to look like. This isn't too big a deal, but I'd just hate to put up a half written article while trying to test out formatting. Should I make a NamingConventionsTest page for this?
2) Etiquette... As a general rule, I'm trying not to say "I" or "me" too much (and trying to avoid the use of opinions that may be outside the 'standard' scope of things) in the article, but sometimes it's the easiest way to get the point across. Understanding that this is highly public and editable material, I'm trying to do my best to ensure that I'm not making it too much my own... I wouldn't think it would be too much of an issue if I slip a few things in there, but I'm not really sure what 'WikiEtiquette' consists of... any pointers? I'd like to sign my name at the bottom as well, being the author of the base article, but not sure if this is proper or not?
And one last thing... being the first time I've ever tried to create a wiki page here or anywhere else, if anyone should care to monitor and provide suggestions or constructive criticism as I progress, feel free - I can use whatever guidance anyone may offer...
Thanks for the help!
Go to the top of the page

jleach
post Mar 29 2010, 09:51 AM