UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Vectorise Text    

ConorS
post Mar 30 2011, 08:27 AM
Post#1

Hi
sing photshop CS 8. I am about to get my album booklet printed up (cd).
Owent to the printer with my .psd files. The guy that works there told me, the text in the booklet shouldn't be rasterised. It should be vectorised. Its preferable. I am to make sure they are this way. I understand that vectorising will make the text sharper in the print.
How do i do this in photoshop? (i'm not very experienced at photoshop)
Is there a way of saving the file like this? How do you do it?
Thanks
Conor
Go to the top of the page

ConorS
post Mar 30 2011, 08:39 AM
Post#2

I might have it. When i export it (save as) as a pdf. i choose, "include vector data" , i also choose embedded fonts. (incase the printer doesn't have the fonts on his machine).
This seems to make the text sharp when i zoom in on the pdf.
When export the file i don't select "include vector data", and i zoom it. Its pixelly.
This might well be the problem sorted.

doctor9
post Mar 30 2011, 08:44 AM
Post#3

UtterAccess Editor

Conor,
You could probably take your .PSD file to the printer, rather than export to .PDF beforehand.
If they are capable of determining the difference between rasterized and pixellated text, they probably have a copy of Photoshop.
BTW, if your PSD file's dimensions match the size of your printout, it shouldn't matter. For example, if you're printing an 8.5x11 inch image, your image size should be 8.5x11 at 300 pixels per inch or better.
Dennis

ConorS
post Mar 30 2011, 09:16 AM
Post#4

ok thanks for the help. Will do.
ennis. Thank you.
If you get a minute check out the album here: http://www.last.fm/music/Midtown+Reign/Seat+By+The+Window

CyberCow
post Mar 30 2011, 11:10 AM
Post#5

UdderAccess Admin + UA Ruler