UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wpf, C# And Reporting    

ConorS
post Jun 10 2013, 05:43 AM
Post#1

I’ll start off with a little background. I have programmed Access Databases for around 10 years now in my previous employment. Most of the Access databases (Front ends) ran off backend tables sitting on an MS SQL Server.
On the last 6 months, i’ve decided to expand my knowledge somewhat and move with new technologies.
So i decided to teach myself some C#, WPF with C# and XAML, SQL Reporting services, integration services etc at home on trial edition of the software. I am not an expert. I’m still learning. I think i am quite a capable programmer in general.
Anyway, i recently started new employment. My employers are using Access as they’re main database tool. I am the only programmer employed. I would like to bring my knowledge and experience to the job and help introducer newer technology.
For example i would like to replace the users entering data into Access forms with C# Windows Presentation Foundation. Its more flexible, more options, looks nicer etc. In general terms.
Anyway, I am looking to create a small application database. It is to be used by around 10 people in the one office. It is essentially a tasks database. It records tasks ongoing by various users. Description of a task, who its assigned to, expected finish date. Things like that. Also, one user, (the manager) will be running reports off this database. E.g. List all ongoing tasks by a certain user.
It will not have a massive back end. I see it being quite small in back to begin with. And there will be some security to go onto some of its tables. So for example, certain users cannot change certain fields on certain tables. (e.g. once an expected finish date is put in it can’t be moved around)