UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Front End In Access And Back End In MySQL    

mesersmith
post Feb 11 2014, 01:46 PM
Post#1

Hi, all.
heard that it is possible to use access as a FE and MySQL as BE, hosted on my own domain.
Oneed to do this, because I need to host my databases on internet, and on the station to have access interfaces.
So, How can I do this?
Do I have to make another table in MySQL or my present tables can be imported?
With what software can I do all this?
Notice that I'm a newbie in MySQL, I know nothing of it so if my questions appear to be stupid, please be kind with me.
Can anybody help me?
Go to the top of the page

jleach
post Feb 11 2014, 02:08 PM
Post#2

UtterAccess Editor

It's possible and has been done before, though before you go too awfully far I'll just throw a quick note out there that SQL Server, if you can get an MS platform for hosting rather than Linux/MySQL, will have an overall easier time of it simply because the two have worked together so often in the past and there's a lot closer correlation.
With MySQL, there's no direct way that I'm aware of to port your existing tables. You'll have to re-create them in MySQL, but if you can get some DDL scripts for the current Access tables (not sure how offhand), it might not be too bad to modify them for MySQL. You'll connect using ODBC - you'll have to find the proper drivers and keep a close eye on data type mappings from one to the other.
The reason I suggest hosted SQL Server is because there is an upsizing wizard, there's a TON more documentation and examples of how to connect to it and it's common enough where drivers and documentation are much easier to find. You can subscribe to use a SQL Database from Azure for somewhere around $5-10/month provided you don't have massive amounts of data.