UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Wpf V Access Arguments    

ConorS
post Feb 24 2014, 11:14 AM
Post#1

Hi
've been working with Access databases for about 10 years now. I'm looking to branch out a bit. About 5-6 years ago i leaped into Ms SQL Server backend databases with Access front ends.
I am now looking into Windows Presentation Foundations interfaces with SQL backends.
There is my question. If yous could help me summarise.
What as a front end does WPF have that access doesn't have? (i'm not very good at articulating it)
I'm trying to sell the idea to the business i work for.
And, "it looks much prettier" isn't going to cut it.
If anyone could help summarise to a higher level that would be great
Thanks
Conor
Go to the top of the page

jleach
post Feb 24 2014, 03:17 PM
Post#2

UtterAccess Editor

WPF is, as the name states, a Presentation Framework. This basically means that it was designed as an advanced tool to create excellent graphical interfaces.
ccess, on the other hand, is generally pretty cut and dry as far as graphical abilities go.
WPF has a nasty learning curve, in my experience. I won't claim to know it inside and out, but I've done decent amount with it here and there. You will still be working on SQL Server, on top of which you will have your logic programmed in C# or maybe VB.Net, and then from there you basically have your choice between WinForms or WPF. WinForms tends to resemble what we recognize coming from an Access background much more than WPF does... things like the basic controls and data bindings are quite a bit more straightforward and not too difficult to wrap the head around.