UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Auto Choose Lan Over Wireless, Windows 7    
 
   
DT_madness
post Oct 30 2014, 09:26 AM
Post#1



Posts: 602
Joined: 25-July 07
From: Georgia, USA


Hi, UA group.

I've been reading about how to have your wifi auto disable if it detects a LAN and haven't found anything that's actually worked for me. I'm in an office bldg and not doing this for at home use.

I've tried:

Under properties of my wifi connection the "Connect Automatically when this network is in range" is unavailable to change as it's locked by our IT.
Under Control Panel/Network and Sharing Center/Change Adapter Settings I pull down the advanced menu then advanced settings, and changed the order of my connections so it reads the wired before wireless.
Under Control Panel/Network and Sharing Center/Change Adapter Settings I pull down the advanced menu then advanced settings, and under BOTH Internet Protocol Versions 4 and 6 I hit advanced, and uncheck Automatic Metric and labeled LAN 1 and wireless 2.

None of these have worked.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks.

DT_Madness
Go to the top of the page
 
CyberCow
post Oct 31 2014, 07:27 AM
Post#2


UdderAccess Admin + UA Ruler
Posts: 19,555
Joined: 27-April 02
From: Upper MI


If IT has it lockedout, you're left in their control.
Go to the top of the page
 
dflak
post Nov 7 2014, 12:23 PM
Post#3


Utter Access VIP
Posts: 6,016
Joined: 22-June 04
From: North Carolina


I've seen this before. Maybe this article will help: http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/27994/how-t...rds-in-windows/.

This site is my other go-to for technical issues.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    12th December 2017 - 03:13 AM