UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V  1 2 >  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> New Layout Interface Order Planning System, Access 2010    
 
   
dummy2
post Dec 31 2014, 03:34 PM
Post#1



Posts: 120
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Belgium


Hello Guys,
I did not had time for getting new things on this forum, being a father is taking a big part of my free time latly, but still i love this forum and it helps me a lot !

Struggling, now with some new ideas i have to make a stock roll controll system with cut service , and a Design catalogue system for my company. Soon i will share my first releases!!
In the mean time i share with you my latest version of an Ordersystem i made.

Hope it will give some of you some inspiration! I know the screens have a lot of information but I try my best to make it still work !!
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Dashboard.PNG ( 258.48K )Number of downloads: 940
Attached File  Order_Screen.PNG ( 255.6K )Number of downloads: 501
Attached File  Product_Screen.PNG ( 264.91K )Number of downloads: 456
 
Go to the top of the page
 
khalakmu
post Dec 31 2014, 09:42 PM
Post#2



Posts: 246
Joined: 31-July 10



Hi dummy2,
Happy new year and Nice design clean... I like it.

khalakmu
Go to the top of the page
 
GregTheSquarePeg
post Jan 2 2015, 04:31 AM
Post#3



Posts: 146
Joined: 3-December 13
From: Mash Potato Land (UK)


Mr Sir dummy2,

This looks very impressive! The form design has the feel of a professionally built application, it's easy to forget that you're looking at an Access database here blush.gif

The tab control form (in the third picture) looks very clean and reminds me a little of the SAP system I use at work.
You seem to have managed to pack a massive amount of information and options into each form, but yet the controls don't appear to be packed in too tightly.

Very good work, would be interested to see more.

Thanks for sharing cheers.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
JonSmith
post Jan 2 2015, 05:28 AM
Post#4



Posts: 3,161
Joined: 19-October 10



Curious about the speedometer stuff.
I've experimented with some stuff about that (more as a brainteaser rather than for a need) and it'd be interesting if you'd share the code you use to generate it.

JS
Go to the top of the page
 
dustmopheadmop
post Jan 2 2015, 01:15 PM
Post#5



Posts: 74
Joined: 30-October 11



Hi,

It look lean and clean but if you post it with application attached herewith it will be leaner and cleaner.

Thanks.
Go to the top of the page
 
CyberCow
post Jan 2 2015, 02:51 PM
Post#6


UdderAccess Admin + UA Ruler
Posts: 19,555
Joined: 27-April 02
From: Upper MI


dustmopheadmop - iconfused.gif How would attaching the application make it leaner and cleaner? iconfused.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
dummy2
post Jan 2 2015, 04:55 PM
Post#7



Posts: 120
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Belgium


Hello All,
Thanks for the positive comments. Yes it tooks me a while to put all information in the forms, but Users dont like to jump to much from one screen to another.

The screenlayouts taking the most of the time, all the rest i based on earlier devlopped pacakages.

The comments from the End Users to make it USER friendly are verry helpfull. The work afterwards is a bit painfull but atleast when the users are happy i am happy

The speedometer is the part i build in is a official software package I bought .
For the rest all is designed by myself.

I uploaded some more screenshots.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  design.PNG ( 206.77K )Number of downloads: 297
Attached File  entwicklung.PNG ( 229.95K )Number of downloads: 251
Attached File  color.PNG ( 156.77K )Number of downloads: 194
 
Go to the top of the page
 
GregTheSquarePeg
post Jan 2 2015, 07:50 PM
Post#8



Posts: 146
Joined: 3-December 13
From: Mash Potato Land (UK)


Thanks for sharing more pictures.

Definitely some of the most complex looking forms I've seen.

Could I ask... does the 'main form' consist of just the navigation buttons at the top and left of the screen, and then each of the other forms are subform controls which open within the main form?

Or something else?
Go to the top of the page
 
dummy2
post Jan 3 2015, 06:08 AM
Post#9



Posts: 120
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Belgium


Yes it is.

Its one main form where all the other forms are like a subform that toggles in to the main form subform child. Before i was using a side menu. This made it a bit faster to swap over from one subform to another, users don't like to wait to long when the click a button. woohoo.gif . I still one to make some forms faster. But its depending on the information you open at once.

Regards

Dummy
Go to the top of the page
 
dummy2
post Mar 8 2015, 04:28 PM
Post#10



Posts: 120
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Belgium


Hello guys




i finalize the database - splitted it and ready to start implementated in to the Company.

Here some more previews.

It ended as a 20 mb database , now i hoping it does not go to slow front end back end.

Any clue's what is the best way to do it.

Local front end by the users and back end on Server or on Server for each user seperatly where also the back end is located ?




Regards




Dummy
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Design.PNG ( 335.63K )Number of downloads: 152
Attached File  mitarbeiters.PNG ( 115.6K )Number of downloads: 90
Attached File  supplier.PNG ( 147.8K )Number of downloads: 76
 
Go to the top of the page
 
GregTheSquarePeg
post Mar 10 2015, 04:19 PM
Post#11



Posts: 146
Joined: 3-December 13
From: Mash Potato Land (UK)


Hi there,

You should find the answers here!

http://www.UtterAccess.com/wiki/index.php/BackEnd

A quote from one section:

QUOTE
What do I distribute to my users? Individual copies of this new FE are what gets distributed to your users.
IMPORTANT: EACH USER GETS THEIR OWN COPY OF THIS FILE. THIS COPY SHOULD BE PLACED ON THEIR OWN LOCAL MACHINE.
If the FE databases are all in the same network directory, name them like this:
Accounting_Amy.MDB
Accounting_Brad.MDB
Accounting_Chris.MDB
Go to the top of the page
 
dummy2
post Mar 21 2015, 04:02 AM
Post#12



Posts: 120
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Belgium


Thanks Greg !

I am trying now with some experts to find out what gives the best Speed for the Users.

Something is clear to me, putting a splitted database on the Server, is not something you have to try out at last.

Virusscanners on Servers, etc .... is infecting the Speed of the database enormesly.

Regards




Dummy
Go to the top of the page
 
gemmathehusky
post Sep 27 2015, 04:10 PM
Post#13


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,432
Joined: 5-June 07
From: UK


I would be surprised if it is a virus scanner causing a problem.

you do have a persistent connection, don't you?
Go to the top of the page
 
JonSmith
post Sep 28 2015, 03:57 AM
Post#14



Posts: 3,161
Joined: 19-October 10



Agreed, network speed shouldn't be such a significant factor to cause a problem unless you are updating 100's of records at the same time.

If you haven't already looked check your indexing and try to source which queries cause problems in particular and they can be looked at and be optimised.
Go to the top of the page
 
dummy2
post Oct 24 2015, 04:02 PM
Post#15



Posts: 120
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Belgium


Hello Guys,

All is working well for the Moment. Split database on Server is all ok. Only split table is growing fast with Information. 1,25 GB in 8 months hope this is not getting in to Problems.

For the rest all look fine.




I uploaded some more Screens, maybe it will give some People new Inspiration

Greatings,




Dummy






Attached File(s)
Attached File  Dashboard_login.PNG ( 341.75K )Number of downloads: 248
Attached File  Orders.PNG ( 304.06K )Number of downloads: 117
Attached File  DashboardOrders.PNG ( 307.4K )Number of downloads: 104
 
Go to the top of the page
 
Alan_G
post Oct 24 2015, 06:58 PM
Post#16


Remembered as Utterly Yorkshire and Forum/Wiki Editor
Posts: 16,533
Joined: 12-January 03
From: Devon UK


Hi

Great looking interface, the only slightly worrying thing is that the file size has grown to 1.25 GB in only 8 months. The maximum size of an Access db is 2 GB so you may start running into problems sooner rather than later.

Have a look here for info on Access limits
Go to the top of the page
 
dummy2
post Oct 25 2015, 02:42 AM
Post#17



Posts: 120
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Belgium


Hello,




Oops just what i taught. And I guess where the Problem sit.

I have like 10 different tables with 10 attachment file fields this is making the Linked Database growing so fast. ( The fronend Database is just OK 25 MB)

Is there a way to handle the attachments different. (Consider that 50 % of the attachments are Pictures)




Greatings




Dummy


Go to the top of the page
 
Jeff B.
post Oct 25 2015, 06:45 AM
Post#18


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,885
Joined: 30-April 10
From: Pacific NorthWet


A classic way to handle images is to NOT store them in the db. Instead, store the filepath to the image(s), which can be simple files in a directory.

I've also had success using a SQL-Server back-end and storing the images as BLOBs (binary large objects), then placing/calling up the images from an Access front-end.
Go to the top of the page
 
dummy2
post Nov 8 2015, 04:27 PM
Post#19



Posts: 120
Joined: 17-June 10
From: Belgium


Hi all,

Banned the attachments out of my database and my backend database have normal size now (from 1,2 Gb to 100 Mb)

so all Ok now !!!




greatings




dummy
Go to the top of the page
 
Alan_G
post Nov 8 2015, 05:11 PM
Post#20


Remembered as Utterly Yorkshire and Forum/Wiki Editor
Posts: 16,533
Joined: 12-January 03
From: Devon UK


Hi

Good news. Continued success with your project and keep up the great interface work thumbup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V  1 2 >


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    17th December 2017 - 10:43 AM