UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Nubuilderpro Open Source Web Database Option Similar To Ms Access    

Lightwave
post Jan 16 2016, 06:13 AM
Post#1

I've been searching for a long time for a relatively cheap web database option. I love MS Access and I will continue to use it when I can especially for the more complicated tasks. I have however found an open source option that seems very good its called nuBuilderPro for simple web based applications - I'm still getting into it and its got some of the wacky complications of 3 tier web applications but it seems very simple and I could create a simple form with login after about 2 hours of investigation. Still to get sub forms working but seems like it is a real goer.

Its called nuBuilderPro

https://www.nubuilder.net/

It works on the LAMP stack - and I don't have that at home so I just splashed out on a subscription to a development environment which I felt was very reasonable at about $14 a month. This will give me a year or so to see if I can really make something useful.

https://www.nubuilder.net/hosting.php

Before this I had been looking at things like zoho creator and alpha 5 I even went and tried alpha 5 for the 30 day free trial and it was good but at 1,500 dollars a year it really isn't practical similarly zoho creator just feels like you have an evil rented landlord

I guess if I get committed to the project enough I could go out and get my own lamp stack.

Thought I should bring it to your attention. I could see this working well with access if you have to make up simple data entry forms for distributed users which can easily be fed back to a back end and linked up to more powerful forms associated with access.