UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Nas, San Or What. Ideas Please, Any Versions    
 
   
dmhzx
post Feb 11 2016, 08:53 AM
Post#1



Posts: 7,033
Joined: 22-December 10
From: England


This is a bit of an oddball, and sorry if it's in the wrong forum.
Any suggestion or guidance on a cheap way to do this.

I have an Access application that needs to be useable by up to four people.
The FE/BE bit is already done.
Three machines are windows 10, one is win 7.
What is a reasonably cheap way to get the back end on another 'device'.

It's easy enough to plug all four PC's to an Ethernet switch, and presumably a NAS as well.
I am comfortable addressing the NAS (from the FE) by it's IP address:
can I just hard code the IP addresses on all five boxes?
Can NAS devices normally be used as DHCP servers?
Can one of the PCs be a DHCP server?
Would I need a router to hand out IP addresses.
I'm a bit in the deep end on this I feel it should be easy to do, but have a sneaky feeling that it's not just a question of plugging them all into an Ethernet switch.

Any help or pointers appreciated.
This is a bit off the beaten path, and the situation here is 'odd'.

Thanks
David
Go to the top of the page
 
kfield7
post Feb 11 2016, 09:39 AM
Post#2



Posts: 774
Joined: 12-November 03
From: Iowa Lot


While there are many more experienced contributors here than I, I can say I have run Access BE on a NAS device (on Ethernet hub) without a problem. the one I used allowed me to assign a device letter for the NAS on the user's PC.
Go to the top of the page
 
graeme_706
post Feb 14 2016, 07:50 PM
Post#3



Posts: 65
Joined: 3-August 10
From: Scotland, UK


David,

I've done similar to what you are trying to do - I have 5 x Windows 7 machines and a Buffalo 1TB NAS on an 8 port switch. I'm using very little of the NAS storage - just got the BE there plus some common shared word / pdf documents.

The NAS allows me to call it a name, such as ABCD// and I just point the FE towards ABCD//.

Must be easy because I managed it !!

I've also simulated the same working model in a different environment (i.e. different workplace, different router, different switch) by having the BE on a Windows 7 laptop, and as long as I temporarily rename the laptop as ABCD//, then everything is good.

Graeme
Go to the top of the page
 
dmhzx
post Feb 15 2016, 04:11 AM
Post#4



Posts: 7,033
Joined: 22-December 10
From: England


That's just what I was looking for Graeme.
Thanks for sharing your experience.

I can now put a proposal through to whoever it is here (once I've managed to find out who that is).
Current thoughts are one proposal with a router, and one without,

It will probably cost a lot more to get the approval than it will to get the job done. When it comes to procedures here, the word 'proportionately isn't in the dictionary.

Thanks again

David'
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    13th December 2017 - 07:26 PM