UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Access 2016 Runtime Updates, Access 2016    
 
   
Wedge
post Mar 15 2016, 12:17 PM
Post#1



Posts: 144
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


Will the runtime version of Access 2016 get updates like the full version? Is it true that the full version only gets updates if you have a Office 365 subscription alongside it?

I ask because the image bug which has since been fixed in Access 2016 is still present in the latest runtime and the KB update that was produced to fix it does not work on the runtime.
Go to the top of the page
 
Wedge
post Mar 17 2016, 10:56 AM
Post#2



Posts: 144
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


I know some posts have said you can use runtime 2013 for Access 2016 applications. This doesn't work of course as the office object model references point to the new version (version 16 instead of 15). Never really understood the point of running a program written in a new version of Access on an old runtime anyway. Bit of a silly workaround.

Guess there are not many people using 2016 and deploying with the 2016 runtime?
Go to the top of the page
 
Wedge
post Mar 17 2016, 11:22 AM
Post#3



Posts: 144
Joined: 29-March 05
From: Yorkshire Dales, England


Fixed it.

There are 2 KB Access 2016 updates out which automatically install if you have an active Office 365 subscription and Access 2016. Found this great page from FMS - http://www.fmsinc.com/MicrosoftAccess/history/versions.htm

Not so if you have runtime (not sure about standalone 2016 as I haven't tested this yet). Also they won't install manually either as it complains that runtime is the wrong version.

If you download the latest KB (KB3114522) and extract it it only contains 3 files - MSACCESS.EXE, MSACC.OLB and SOA.DLL. If you copy all 3 files over the runtime installed version in the Access program directory it works. As the KB is cumulative you can ignore the earlier KB. Clearly this is not ideal and will only be fixed properly if Microsoft allow the runtime edition to be updated via Windows update. Does anyone know someone in the Access team that they can ask to see if this can be done? smile.gif
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    18th December 2017 - 07:55 AM