UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Locking Down Front End, 2013    
 
   
cwm321
post May 24 2016, 01:10 PM
Post#1



Posts: 187
Joined: 20-October 14
From: San Antonio, Texas


I am locking down the front end of my Access 2013 database, for distribution, so as to eliminate fiddling with my forms, reports, modules, etc, and am having a problem. I am attempting to remove the "Create"; "External Data"; and "Database Tools" tabs in the ribbon.

When I go to "File", then "Options", then "Current Database" and to "Ribbon and Toolbar Options" and unselect "Allow Full Menus", then save, exit Access and restart the database, the "Create"; "External Data"; and "Database Tools" tabs are eliminated, but also eliminated in the "File" menu are all but the "Print"; "Privacy Options" and the "Exit" options.

The selections in the "File" menu such as "Info", "Open"; "Save as"; "Close"; "Options" and "Account" should not be eliminated, but are when the "Allow Full Menus" is unselected. How do I correct this? Must be something simple which I'm missing. Any assistance is greatly appreciated.
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post May 24 2016, 01:18 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,449
Joined: 30-June 11



Why not create your own ribbon and hide all the built-in ones?
Convert it over to accde for distribution.
Go to the top of the page
 
RAZMaddaz
post May 24 2016, 01:18 PM
Post#3


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,522
Joined: 23-May 05
From: Bethesda, MD USA


Have you tried deselecting the "Allow Default Shortcut Menus" instead?


RAZMaddaz
Go to the top of the page
 
cwm321
post May 24 2016, 02:24 PM
Post#4



Posts: 187
Joined: 20-October 14
From: San Antonio, Texas


Raz. Thanks for the suggestion. I'll look into this idea.
Go to the top of the page
 
cwm321
post May 24 2016, 02:29 PM
Post#5



Posts: 187
Joined: 20-October 14
From: San Antonio, Texas


I tried deselecting the "Allow Default Shortcut Menus", while leaving the "Allow Full Menus" selected, however, while it leaves the "File" menu intact as desired , the "Create"; "External Data"; and "Database Tools" tabs also remain (undesired). Any thoughts?
Go to the top of the page
 
cwm321
post May 24 2016, 02:36 PM
Post#6



Posts: 187
Joined: 20-October 14
From: San Antonio, Texas


Daniel. I plan to create an accde file for distribution. I'll look into hiding the current ribbon and creating a custom one. Thanks for the idea.
Go to the top of the page
 
cwm321
post May 24 2016, 02:45 PM
Post#7



Posts: 187
Joined: 20-October 14
From: San Antonio, Texas


Daniel. I tried customizing the ribbon, by removing unwanted options. Success! Many thanks, and such a simple solution too, and the "File" menu is unaffected.
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post May 24 2016, 07:29 PM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,449
Joined: 30-June 11



My pleasure. thumbup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    11th December 2017 - 07:57 PM