UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Perplexed By Slow Database ... Please Help!, Access 2010    

treymarie
post Jun 14 2016, 03:13 PM
Post#1

I have been doing Access development for 20 years and this is the most frustrating problem yet. I have a new database I have created from scratch. I have the Access backend on the server and Access frontends are distributed to users desktops. When I test it, it's lightning fast. As soon as only one other person opens the database, even if they are just on the main switchboard and not opening any other forms, it immediately slows down to about half speed! We have tried this with various people over various machines and it's the same result. There is a noticeable delay moving from record to record, clicking on tabs, etc. I admit the main form is somewhat complex ... lots of tabs with subforms. This is where the slowness mostly occurs. However, I have done just about everything the experts have recommended as far as improving performance and it has helped a little, but not enough. Still a very noticeable delay. I have done the following:

• Only loading one record at a time instead of all records (only loading the record the user wants to look at).
• Create a permanent connection to backend by having main switchboard based on small table with one record.
• Only loading subforms or combobox sources if the user clicks on the tab with that subform or combobox.
• Changed primary keys from Descending to Ascending (only had this on one table and a few related child tables).
• Replacing all domain aggregate functions (DCount / DLookup) to recordset counts or "ELookup" function in VBA and queries.
• Do more functions up front only once when the form loads, rather than on Form_Current.
• Add primary keys to all tables (I only had 3 tables without primary keys, but all have unique indexes)