UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Odbc Connection To SQL Server, Access 2013    
 
   
syswizard
post Jul 20 2016, 10:20 AM
Post#1



Posts: 446
Joined: 11-September 07
From: Media,PA


Can an ODBC connection be made to a SQL Server database instance that is cloud-hosted ?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jul 20 2016, 10:26 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,229
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hmm, I don't see why not. What exactly do you mean by "cloud hosted?"
Go to the top of the page
 
syswizard
post Jul 20 2016, 11:49 AM
Post#3



Posts: 446
Joined: 11-September 07
From: Media,PA


See this link
See #4....Public cloud.
What does a connection string look like to get to the SQL Server database ?
It must have an IP address reference, right ?
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jul 20 2016, 12:08 PM
Post#4


UA Admin
Posts: 31,216
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Not necessarily. If you have the IP address, that's probably good, but you can also use the Address of the server, e.g.

Attached File  2016_07_20_10_07_02.png ( 17.25K )Number of downloads: 2
Go to the top of the page
 
jleach
post Jul 20 2016, 12:09 PM
Post#5


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 9,808
Joined: 7-December 09
From: Staten Island, NY, USA


Yes, the server name is typically the protocol, IP and port, so something like this:

Server=tcp:127.0.0.1,1433;database=... etc
Go to the top of the page
 
GroverParkGeorge
post Jul 20 2016, 12:10 PM
Post#6


UA Admin
Posts: 31,216
Joined: 20-June 02
From: Newcastle, WA


Do you have any valid connection strings to get to on-premises SQL Servers? If so, use them as a pattern and change out the name of the server, or its IP, for the name of the on-premises server. And, of course, the database name, UID and PWD.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jul 20 2016, 12:11 PM
Post#7


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,229
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


There's an example connection string here. Hope it helps...
Go to the top of the page
 
jleach
post Jul 20 2016, 12:13 PM
Post#8


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 9,808
Joined: 7-December 09
From: Staten Island, NY, USA


FWIW, it depends on how the server is set up. If you're using SQL Database (Azure's direct SQL Server service), the server name is whatever you pick out: tcp:yourservername.windows.database.net,1433

However, if you have SQL Server running on an Azure VM as part of an IaaS, your connection will vary depending on how the server is set up (named instance w/ dns, IP, ActiveDirectory etc). For these cases, if you're setting up yourself, exposing the SQL instance over TCP is usually the easiest. If you're just trying to connect, get a hold of whatever IT dept controls the server and get the correct string from them.

There's not any single way to access it for all servers.
Go to the top of the page
 
gemmathehusky
post Jul 20 2016, 01:34 PM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,432
Joined: 5-June 07
From: UK


the cloud host should explain to you how to set the link up.

It shouldn't be "guesswork"
Go to the top of the page
 
syswizard
post Jul 20 2016, 04:00 PM
Post#10



Posts: 446
Joined: 11-September 07
From: Media,PA


Thanks to all.....good stuff !! (Especially to JLeach for the subtle details regarding Azure)

Gemma - unfortunately, the vendor who provides the cloud-based service, is not cooperative to other outside consultants.
Go to the top of the page
 
jleach
post Jul 20 2016, 08:28 PM
Post#11


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 9,808
Joined: 7-December 09
From: Staten Island, NY, USA


>> Gemma - unfortunately, the vendor who provides the cloud-based service, is not cooperative to other outside consultants. <<

Hmm... they either allow access or they don't. If they don't, you're out of luck, but if they do, they should provide the connection details. If the "supposedly" are to allow you access but refuse to actually give you the detail on how to access it, go to your client/boss and say "sorry, but if they don't give me access to this, I can't do anything"

If it's a case of them saying "connect to SQL Azure on server blah with uid and pwd blah and blah and hit database blah" but you're having trouble working out the connection string nuances to get there, then something like connectionstrings.com is a good resources, and you try a half a dozen or dozen different ways until you find the right syntax (they're not nicknamed conniptionstrings for no reason...). That's just another day in the life type stuff.

Make sure you have the correct driver as well smile.gif (for SQL Azure, that'd be Native Client 11.0)
Go to the top of the page
 
gemmathehusky
post Jul 21 2016, 05:41 AM
Post#12


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 4,432
Joined: 5-June 07
From: UK


if you can't access it from a local PC, how do you access it?

do you have to log on to their servers.


If it doesn't do what you want, try another host. I had a free go at AWS (Amazon), and they certainly supplied connection mechanisms. Basically you uploaded your backend to the cloud, and then used your local front ends as required. Sort of terminal server without needing all the local set up.
Go to the top of the page
 
syswizard
post Jul 21 2016, 04:03 PM
Post#13



Posts: 446
Joined: 11-September 07
From: Media,PA


Well, after further technical review, this just keeps getting "better":

Now I have to "sync" a LAN based instance of SQL Server with a cloud-hosted SQL Server instance !!!
The frequency is only daily....not real-time.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    15th December 2017 - 03:11 AM