UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Identifying Records In Linked Outlook Inbox Table    

muse43
post Sep 15 2016, 11:04 AM
Post#1

Hi,

I am a beginner Access developer. I am building an email manager program for a client. I have most of it complete.

I am having trouble with the following though: I am able to successfully pull bounceback email addresses from the inbox (using a number of functions like instr() etc). I then mark those email addresses as "bad emails" after 3 bouncebacks. To avoid double counting the bouncebacks whenever the program runs, I want to delete these messages after recording the bounceback event.

The problem is that the linked Outlook table does not have any unique or ID field. I've tried a couple things including:

1. Tried creating my own "Index" using: last 6 character of: the size of the message x Time Received. This gave me unique numbers for each record but when running queries using that field, it simply wasn't selecting the right records. Still not sure why after playing with it for quite some time... I'm still wondering if this is a possible solution that I just didn't get quite right for some reason.

2. I've tried using the original query (based directly off of the inbox table) that finds the bounce back emails, copying that query and making it a DELETE query. This does delete the records from the inbox. However, it doesn't get the job done. The reason is a bit complicated but basically, it deletes ALL the records found but when I am marking a bounceback event, I check the address found vs. addresses in my contact list first and only mark as bounceback if address exists in contact list. I only want to delete THOSE messages and not all found.