UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Google Maps Distance Matrix Results Into Access, Access 2013    

beanhasemail
post Oct 22 2016, 01:25 AM
Post#1

I apologize if this is the incorrect forum to place this, but I was not sure where else would be more important. Firstly I would like to state that I am not a programmer and I learn what I can on the fly by copying code samples and trying to adjust those to my needs. I am currently trying to use the Google Maps Distance Matrix to provide me with distance, duration, duration_in_traffic while providing departure time, travel mode, traffic assumption, unit of measure, and avoid tolls. I am trying to get results for a 1-3 origins with multiple destinations. I have looked at various examples that either are only for a single origin and destination which I cannot figure out how to alter or far outside of my reach (use programming language that I do not even know where to start or methods I simply do not understand {javascript, java, PHP, XPath, etc.}.

I am trying to get the data from JSON or XML into a tabular format (rows being records and columns being fields) that I can use in Access. I do not know anything about the structure of JSON or XML, but the Google results are throwing me for a loop because they are not formatted like all of the examples I see. All of the examples show all of the parent and child nodes grouped to together which makes intuitive sense on how they are related and fleshing them out, but Google's results do not follow this example. Google gives all of the origins and destinations at the beginning of the results and the details below with no ID being provided. This makes it unclear as to what origin-destination combination goes with what child records.