UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Visual Studio Not Showing Adobe Com Component    

Marto
post Jan 31 2017, 05:07 PM
Post#1

Hi
I am new to visual studio and i am trying some tutorials.
One of them relates to loading and viewing a pdf in a form. However, one of the steps relates to using the adobe COM component from the tool box but it is not there like it shows in the tutorial.
Any help is appreciated.

Martin

--------------------
There is nothing in the world that some man cannot make a little worse and sell a little cheaper, and he who considers price only is that man's lawful prey.
Go to the top of the page

JForbes
post Feb 1 2017, 07:56 AM
Post#2

My guess as to why you can't find the ActiveX object is that it hasn't been installed on your computer. So if you absolutly have to finish your tutorial, you'll need to install either Adobe Acrobat Reader, Adobe Acrobat or possibly the SDK.

If you don't need to finish the Tutorial, but would still like to display a .PDF in and Access Form:
  • Create a new Blank Form.
  • Select Insert ActiveX Control from the Ribbon.
  • Scroll down and find and Select the "Microsoft Web Browser", and click OK.
  • Add the following code to FormLoad Event:

CODE
Private Sub Form_Load()
    Dim sPDF As String
    sPDF = "C:\temp\SomePDF.pdf"     ' Replace this with an actual path and file name of an existing PDF
    Me.WebBrowser0.Navigate2 sPDF    ' If you started with a blank Form, the Web Browser should be named WebBrowser0
End Sub

• Make sure you change the setting of sPDF to an actual file name on your computer.
  • Run your Form and the PDF should be loaded into the WebBrowser control.

*Edit*