UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Sagekey Installer Updated Front End And Adding A Dll, Access 2013    
 
   
Enzyme80
post Mar 3 2017, 10:34 AM
Post#1



Posts: 325
Joined: 31-January 06



We are in our second year of using SageKey to install our software. The first year it worked amazing. It fixed many issues we had using the old Package and Deployment wizard via Access 2002.

We are ready to release the next version of our software but it is not replacing files even though we are telling SageKey it's a new version number. Has anyone run across this before - if so how do you deal with it not replacing the files. We have multiple files it's not replacing but the main would be our .mde files (there are multiple) and a few .mdb files.

In addition to this we have created a in house .Net dll file in C#. To register this dll we need to use regasm instead of the normal regsvr32. Is there a way with SageKey to install and register the .Net dll file?

Thanks

--------------------
If you have the same problems today that you did yesterday its time for a vacation.
Go to the top of the page
 
HiTechCoach
post Mar 3 2017, 04:52 PM
Post#2


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 18,993
Joined: 29-September 03
From: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma


Curious, what did SageKey's support say when you ask them?

--------------------
Boyd Trimmell aka Hi Tech Coach ( HiTechCoach.com free Access stuff)
Microsoft MVP 2010-2015 - Access Expert
Inventory Control, Accounting, BPM, and CRM Software Developer
"If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."
Go to the top of the page
 
Enzyme80
post Mar 7 2017, 11:08 AM
Post#3



Posts: 325
Joined: 31-January 06



When we first asked them, basically they said just replace the files and everything should work. Well that is somewhat true - but there is a catch.
The best help I found what actually on here. Can't find the post but it said
QUOTE
Create new frontend file (with built-in update code for the backend data tables if required).
Create an empty backend file (with any data table updates already applied).
(NOTE: you can simply provide the same empty backend file as before - your frontend should take care of any required changes)
Open the saved SageKey project.
Within the SageKey project, change the version number, change the file links to the new frontend and backend files.
Use the SageKey project to create another normal/full/complete installation package 'program_setup.exe'.


What we did is
For the new install, I made copy of the support folder for the old install and rename it to New Install, went to every support files in sagekey and update the source path to the new path and made the build.
This allowed for the files to update properly.

We are still working on registering the new DLL but I think we will be able to do this with a batch file.

--------------------
If you have the same problems today that you did yesterday its time for a vacation.
Go to the top of the page
 
HiTechCoach
post Mar 7 2017, 03:54 PM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 18,993
Joined: 29-September 03
From: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma


Thanks for the update and your solution.

I have not used the SageKey product to create an installer.

I use a different installer. It installs a custom app that performs a cloud install for new installs and is an updater.

--------------------
Boyd Trimmell aka Hi Tech Coach ( HiTechCoach.com free Access stuff)
Microsoft MVP 2010-2015 - Access Expert
Inventory Control, Accounting, BPM, and CRM Software Developer
"If technology doesn't work for people, then it doesn't work."
Go to the top of the page
 
Enzyme80
post Mar 9 2017, 02:56 PM
Post#5



Posts: 325
Joined: 31-January 06



If you don't mind, what are you using? We are potentially looking to do some sort of could based version for our software.

--------------------
If you have the same problems today that you did yesterday its time for a vacation.
Go to the top of the page
 
GilP
post Oct 11 2017, 01:24 AM
Post#6



Posts: 23
Joined: 28-March 09



HiTechCoach
Hi,
Can you please elaborate on the installer you are using?
Thanks
Gilad
Go to the top of the page
 
DanielPineault
post Oct 11 2017, 05:25 AM
Post#7


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 5,454
Joined: 30-June 11



These are the most common installers, see: http://www.devhut.net/2014/06/04/ms-access...-dead-now-what/ you can review each to see what fits best your scenario.

--------------------
Daniel Pineault (2010-2017 Microsoft MVP)
Professional Help: http://www.cardaconsultants.com
Free MS Access Code, Tips, Tricks and Samples: http://www.devhut.net

* Design should never say "Look at me". It should always say "Look at this". -- David Craib
* A user interface is like a joke, if you have to explain it, it's not that good! -- Martin LeBlanc


All code samples, demonstration databases, links,... are provided 'AS IS' and are to be used at your own risk! Take the necessary steps to check, validate ...
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    18th December 2017 - 05:53 AM