UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Stop Access Application Being Installed On Another Pc, Access 2007    
 
   
Lateral
post Jun 6 2017, 11:40 PM
Post#1



Posts: 129
Joined: 29-November 13



Hi Guys

I have a split Access database.

The FE is and Accde and the BE is an Accdb.

I want to stop the possibility of somebody simply copying the folders etc onto another PC and running the application.

I have a few ideas how to implement a simple system but am curious how other people are doing it to stop their software being copied and used without permission.

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
zocker
post Jun 7 2017, 02:48 AM
Post#2


Utterly Eccentric and Moderator
Posts: 4,055
Joined: 4-March 00
From: Bristol / Ipswich / Spain


I have found that writing a value to the windows registry is very effective. There is code here: LINK to CODE to accomplish this. This has been unexpectedly successful. I used this to prevent data theft rather than application theft. When my clients sent computers to IT 'specialists - hardware shops' and transferred the App & data to a 'shiny new' comp. I had complaints that the program was no longer working.....In fact it was working as it should have done- check for a particular string in the registry and having NOT found it, displayed a message 'NOT LICENSED FOR USE ON THIS MACHINE'
You can add a (secret) key combination or tiny invisible button to reestablish the reference.
This is not a 100% solution but since it defeated professional IT guys it has some value. There are other tactics none 100% but other UA members will offer these I am sure.

Regards

Zocker

--------------------
I would like to remind members and visitors that UtterAccess is a NON SMOKING website. In that respect, it is the worlds first Thank you for not smoking.
Go to the top of the page
 
Lateral
post Jun 7 2017, 02:54 AM
Post#3



Posts: 129
Joined: 29-November 13



Thanks mate

That's what I was thinking of doing.

Cheers
Go to the top of the page
 
pere_de_chipstic...
post Jun 7 2017, 04:08 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess Editor
Posts: 10,112
Joined: 8-November 07
From: South coast, England


Hi Lateral

Although I've looked at changing the registry I didn't particularly want to modify it as some organizations prevent you from modifying registry settings or get very touchy if you do!

The method I've used is to save the hard disk Drive Serial number, to a table in the Front End, as a one way hash encrypted value using a seed.

On start up if the one way hash encrypted hard disk Drive Serial number does not match the saved code then a 'Not Licensed' message is displayed.

hth

--------------------
Warm regards
Bernie
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    16th December 2017 - 11:26 PM