UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 2010 Security Guidance, Access 2010    

phisaw
post Jun 9 2017, 07:05 PM
Post#1

I am looking for information on securing a 2010 Access database. I've been working with Access for about 25 years,
nothing as extensive as what you experts do, but enough to be familiar with many aspects to get a working user-friendly
database. I've always created a front-end/back-end structure, used the Access user security feature, and code to
limit visibility to menus and to make custom shortcut menus.

My company has migrated to Office 2010 and so I decided to create my latest database in this version. I have everything
in place and am ready to set restrictions to menus, ribbon, navigation pane, etc. I have been researching and have found
several confusing, comprehensive, difficult ways to make this happen. There seems to be many aspects to take into account,
such as, if you write code to limit one area, users can then use keystrokes to get beyond the code. If you save the
database as one type, users can copy to another format to gain access. Due to the mass confusion,
I have even read where others have considered reverting back to a 2003 version.

My question to all the experts out there is, should I just revert back to 2003 and use methods I'm familiar with
or can anyone suggest a fairly simple method to prevent users from gaining access to the main ribbon,
creating a custom ribbon, and restrict access to the navigation pane? If I should continue in 2010,
I'm not asking anyone to do the work for me, just some clear guidance that I can understand to help me along.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated, especially as confused as I am now.
Thanks in advance,
Pam
Go to the top of the page

DanielPineault
post Jun 9 2017, 07:48 PM
Post#2

UtterAccess VIP