UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Hyperlink Fields, Access 2016    
 
   
lollypop
post Jul 11 2017, 12:43 AM
Post#1



Posts: 149
Joined: 22-February 17
From: Deep South


I'm trying to find out why when I paste alpha-numeric text which is a hyperlink that looks like this: B073VGLFCH. When I click on it later, it pulls up what I need, but I also get an error message in my form. (see pic) When I look into the table it looks like this: B073VGLFCH#http://B073VGLFCH#. When I copy the text, it's just text, so I'm not sure why it's adding that extra info. Is there something I can change in the table/field that will fix this?
Attached File(s)
Attached File  hyperlinkerror.jpg ( 366.07K )Number of downloads: 3
 
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jul 11 2017, 12:57 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,233
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Where are you getting the copied text from? If it was a hyperlink, then it's not a simple text. A simple text won't let you click on it to go to another document or web address. A hyperlink would because it has a hidden address embedded in the text. When you look at a hyperlink field in a table, you are seeing the hidden address.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
lollypop
post Jul 11 2017, 01:06 AM
Post#3



Posts: 149
Joined: 22-February 17
From: Deep South


I'm copying it from the listing page on Amazon or Etsy. It's not a hyperlink. I'm double clicking on the highlighted data and copying it into the database. It's text just like the word on there
"Enabled" or "Active" or "MB25" The text above it is a hyperlink, but the alpha-numeric number is not.
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Amazon_page.jpg ( 74.36K )Number of downloads: 0
 
Go to the top of the page
 
BruceM
post Jul 11 2017, 07:04 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,022
Joined: 24-May 10
From: Downeast Maine


If you paste text into a hyperlink field, it will be stored as a hyperlink by adding the address behind the scenes, as DBGuy mentioned. Your example does not seem to be a web address, so what exactly is it? If you want to store it as a hyperlink you will need the full address, although I believe you can display whatever you like.

Allen Browne has an advanced hyperlink utility that may be useful.
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jul 11 2017, 10:52 AM
Post#5


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,233
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Just to add a little more... If you enter text into a Hyperlink field in Access, a link address is required. If you don't provide one, Access will assume the address is the same as the display text, which is the text you're pasting. Hence, you see the pasted text repeated when viewing the table.

Hope it makes sense...

PS. Allen Browne also explains what a Hyperlink Field is in this article.

Cheers!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
lollypop
post Jul 11 2017, 11:59 AM
Post#6



Posts: 149
Joined: 22-February 17
From: Deep South


Someone gave me code to add they prefix to the alpha-numeric characters to form a web address. See below...


Private Sub PageNumber_Click()

Application.FollowHyperlink "http://www.amazon.com/" & Me.Amazon_ASIN


End Sub
Go to the top of the page
 
lollypop
post Jul 13 2017, 12:24 AM
Post#7



Posts: 149
Joined: 22-February 17
From: Deep South


Help?? confused.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
BruceM
post Jul 13 2017, 06:23 AM
Post#8


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 7,022
Joined: 24-May 10
From: Downeast Maine


Does it not work? What is the finished connection string in your example?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jul 13 2017, 09:34 AM
Post#9


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,233
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi lollypop,

Perhaps the simplest solution for you right now, since you have a code to make the link work, is to simply delete the Hyperlink field and replace it with a regular Text field in your table.

Just my 2 cents...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
lollypop
post Jul 13 2017, 05:14 PM
Post#10



Posts: 149
Joined: 22-February 17
From: Deep South


"Does it not work? What is the finished connection string in your example?"

I don't know what that means, sorry. Would you please explain it to me? TIA
Go to the top of the page
 
lollypop
post Jul 13 2017, 05:15 PM
Post#11



Posts: 149
Joined: 22-February 17
From: Deep South


theDBguy,

"Perhaps the simplest solution for you right now, since you have a code to make the link work, is to simply delete the Hyperlink field and replace it with a regular Text field in your table."

Would that still allow me to click on the alpha-numeric data and open the webpage?
Go to the top of the page
 
lollypop
post Jul 14 2017, 01:25 PM
Post#12



Posts: 149
Joined: 22-February 17
From: Deep South


is there anybody out there?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jul 14 2017, 02:25 PM
Post#13


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,233
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Re: "Would that still allow me to click on the alpha-numeric data and open the webpage?"

Yes, by using the code someone gave you earlier in the DblClick event of the Textbox.

Please notice I said DblClick rather than Click because I assume you would be clicking into the Textbox to enter the information in the first place.

Hope it helps...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
lollypop
post Jul 14 2017, 02:46 PM
Post#14



Posts: 149
Joined: 22-February 17
From: Deep South


I think it's working. Thanks! thumbup.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Jul 14 2017, 02:50 PM
Post#15


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,233
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

You're welcome. Glad to hear you got it to work. We were all happy to assist. Good luck with your project.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    17th December 2017 - 02:38 PM