UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Activate Backstage VBA, Access 2010    
 
   
jackstraw
post Aug 4 2017, 11:45 PM
Post#1



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Hello UA people ,

I would like to use my custom Backstage as a "splash" screen.
So in my AutoExec function I'd like to open the applications main form and then switch to the backstage.
I can sendkeys ... but we all know the results of that ...

What am I missing ?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 5 2017, 08:40 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 73,472
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Jack,

Welcome to UtterAccess!
welcome2UA.gif

I am also unclear to what you are referring as the backstage. Are you trying to activate the File tab on the Ribbon?
Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Aug 5 2017, 11:25 AM
Post#3



Posts: 509
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


QUOTE
Unclear what you mean by custom backstage.

You can use the Ribbon-XML-Schema to design a custom backstage. The default backstage is indeed what you see when selecting the "File"-Tab in the ribbon.

If you created your own backstage, I would assume that you can use the IRibbonUI.ActivateTab-Method to bring it into view. - But I've never done that myself.
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 6 2017, 03:46 PM
Post#4



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



yes PhilS , exactly , I have a custom Backstage and have already tried using several combinations of IRibbonUI.ActivateTab , .ActivateTabMso ... can't seem to get the methods to work ... I'm missing something ... I've used both IRibbonUI var I set on both the Backstage and Start_frm OnLoad() events ....
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 6 2017, 03:48 PM
Post#5



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



yes DBGuy , I want to active the File tab. Keeping in mind I have both a custom Backstage and Ribbon for the startup form ... .... ads , really .....
Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Aug 7 2017, 01:57 AM
Post#6



Posts: 509
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


Can you please be more specific on what exactly you tried and in which way is does not work?
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 7 2017, 07:25 PM
Post#7



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Hi DBGuy , Do you know a way to activate the File tab besides sendkeys ?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 7 2017, 09:57 PM
Post#8


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 73,472
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Jack,

Colin beat me to it. Please give it a try and let us know how it goes.

Cheers!
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 8 2017, 10:57 AM
Post#9



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Hi guys ,

Yes , I've been trying combos of that ... still having issues.
Attached is a very basic test app ... I still can't get it working in this very simple db
It does not have a Backstage and the Ribbon is very basic and I still get the same error. "Invalid procedure call or argument"

Could you please take a look ?

Thanks in advance !

Jack
Attached File(s)
Attached File  test.zip ( 23.61K )Number of downloads: 15
 
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 8 2017, 11:05 PM
Post#10



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Colin ,
Yeah he's a great resource and I've created many complex ribbons with the help of his site.
If you do a search for ActivateTabMso on his site you get nothing.
I looked at that sample you suggested , it is for 2007 and uses SendKeys.

Come on U/A ! challenge ... lol
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 9 2017, 09:22 AM
Post#11



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Hi all,

Lol , it's just not working, if someone can get my test app working, I'd really appreciate it.

For now, I have to believe it's a failing on my part to completely understand or it's an Access 2010 bug ?

So, my plan is to create a replication of the backstage using a regular form. I'll load this "splash" form on startup.

Very disappointing I have to resort to this work-around.

I'll check back every now and then.

Thanks for your time,

Jack
Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Aug 10 2017, 08:50 AM
Post#12



Posts: 509
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


QUOTE
If you created your own backstage, I would assume that you can use the IRibbonUI.ActivateTab-Method to bring it into view.

Done some research.
The Problem with the File-"Tab" is, that it is actually not a Tab! It is just a Push-Button. So, the ActivateTab can obviously (in hindsight) not be used activate it.
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    16th October 2018 - 05:42 PM