UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
 
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Activate Backstage VBA, Access 2010    
 
   
jackstraw
post Aug 4 2017, 11:45 PM
Post#1



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Hello UA people ,

I would like to use my custom Backstage as a "splash" screen.
So in my AutoExec function I'd like to open the applications main form and then switch to the backstage.
I can sendkeys ... but we all know the results of that ...

What am I missing ?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 5 2017, 08:40 AM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,233
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Jack,

Welcome to UtterAccess!
welcome2UA.gif

I am also unclear to what you are referring as the backstage. Are you trying to activate the File tab on the Ribbon?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Aug 5 2017, 11:25 AM
Post#3



Posts: 404
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


QUOTE
Unclear what you mean by custom backstage.

You can use the Ribbon-XML-Schema to design a custom backstage. The default backstage is indeed what you see when selecting the "File"-Tab in the ribbon.

If you created your own backstage, I would assume that you can use the IRibbonUI.ActivateTab-Method to bring it into view. - But I've never done that myself.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 6 2017, 03:46 PM
Post#4



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



yes PhilS , exactly , I have a custom Backstage and have already tried using several combinations of IRibbonUI.ActivateTab , .ActivateTabMso ... can't seem to get the methods to work ... I'm missing something ... I've used both IRibbonUI var I set on both the Backstage and Start_frm OnLoad() events ....
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 6 2017, 03:48 PM
Post#5



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



yes DBGuy , I want to active the File tab. Keeping in mind I have both a custom Backstage and Ribbon for the startup form ... .... ads , really .....
Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Aug 7 2017, 01:57 AM
Post#6



Posts: 404
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


Can you please be more specific on what exactly you tried and in which way is does not work?

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 7 2017, 07:25 PM
Post#7



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Hi DBGuy , Do you know a way to activate the File tab besides sendkeys ?
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Aug 7 2017, 09:57 PM
Post#8


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,233
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Jack,

Colin beat me to it. Please give it a try and let us know how it goes.

Cheers!

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 8 2017, 10:57 AM
Post#9



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Hi guys ,

Yes , I've been trying combos of that ... still having issues.
Attached is a very basic test app ... I still can't get it working in this very simple db
It does not have a Backstage and the Ribbon is very basic and I still get the same error. "Invalid procedure call or argument"

Could you please take a look ?

Thanks in advance !

Jack
Attached File(s)
Attached File  test.zip ( 23.61K )Number of downloads: 9
 
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 8 2017, 11:05 PM
Post#10



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Colin ,
Yeah he's a great resource and I've created many complex ribbons with the help of his site.
If you do a search for ActivateTabMso on his site you get nothing.
I looked at that sample you suggested , it is for 2007 and uses SendKeys.

Come on U/A ! challenge ... lol
Go to the top of the page
 
jackstraw
post Aug 9 2017, 09:22 AM
Post#11



Posts: 7
Joined: 4-August 17



Hi all,

Lol , it's just not working, if someone can get my test app working, I'd really appreciate it.

For now, I have to believe it's a failing on my part to completely understand or it's an Access 2010 bug ?

So, my plan is to create a replication of the backstage using a regular form. I'll load this "splash" form on startup.

Very disappointing I have to resort to this work-around.

I'll check back every now and then.

Thanks for your time,

Jack
Go to the top of the page
 
PhilS
post Aug 10 2017, 08:50 AM
Post#12



Posts: 404
Joined: 26-May 15
From: The middle of Germany


QUOTE
If you created your own backstage, I would assume that you can use the IRibbonUI.ActivateTab-Method to bring it into view.

Done some research.
The Problem with the File-"Tab" is, that it is actually not a Tab! It is just a Push-Button. So, the ActivateTab can obviously (in hindsight) not be used activate it.

--------------------
Go to the top of the page
 


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    17th December 2017 - 01:11 AM