UtterAccess.com
X   Site Message
(Message will auto close in 2 seconds)

Welcome to UtterAccess! Please ( Login   or   Register )

Custom Search
2 Pages V  1 2 >  (Go to first unread post)
   Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Get Week Day Into Code, Access 2013    
 
   
wizcow
post Sep 30 2017, 06:11 PM
Post#1



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


Hello

I am using code to fill a label on a form.
The label displays the day of the week.

Private Sub UpdateClock()
currentDate = Now()
Me!LabelDay.Caption = Format(currentDate, "dddd")
End Sub

Resulting in the label displaying the word Saturday

This is perfect...

I am now trying to use the result from the label in code.

Private Sub Form_Timer()

If frmSwitch!LabelDay = "Saturday" Then
GetMail
End If

End Sub

...but this doesnt work.
Anyone see what I am doing wrong?

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Sep 30 2017, 06:37 PM
Post#2


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,225
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

Is the problem code inside the same form where the label is located? If so, replace the line:

If frmSwitch!LabelDay = "Saturday" Then

with this:

If Me.LabelDay = "Saturday" Then

to see if it makes a difference. However, you can also simply repeat the same expression in your code. For example:

If Format(Date(), "dddd") = "Saturday" Then

Or, another approach might be something like this:

If Weekday(Date()) = 7 Then

Hope it helps...

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Sep 30 2017, 11:11 PM
Post#3



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


Thank you TheDBguy !

I am trying to collect the date from a different form. (frmSwitch)
The code is ran from (frmMail) both are open.

When I run the code I get this error
frmSwitch!LabelDay = <object required>

I tried using
If frmSwitch!LabelDay = vbSaturday Then
but it didnt work either

I was hoping it would be just a syntax thing smile.gif

Thank you for the help!!!
Tom

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Oct 1 2017, 06:08 AM
Post#4


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,277
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


>> I was hoping it would be just a syntax thing smile.gif <<

It is!

It's a label, and you've forgotten to access its .Caption property:
CODE
Private Sub Form_Timer()

  If frmSwitch!LabelDay.Caption = "Saturday" Then
    GetMail
  End If

End Sub


Beware, you might want to set TimerInterval = 0 after calling GetMail, unless the intention is to continuously fire that function each TimerInterval on a Saturday.

hth,

d

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Oct 3 2017, 06:39 PM
Post#5



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


Awesome!
Thank you CheekyBuda
Good call on the timer.
If the interval is set to 0 will it fire again next saturday?
I want it to launch once every saturday.

Thanks
Tom

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Oct 3 2017, 07:09 PM
Post#6


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,277
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


Well, it depends on what the TimerInterval is set to!

If it fires once an hour, it could call GetMail() 23/24 times each Saturday!

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Oct 4 2017, 08:57 AM
Post#7



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


Of course!
Thanks Dave

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Oct 4 2017, 12:49 PM
Post#8



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


I just discovered a new problem...

I want to use an array with seven radio buttons (sunday, monday tuesday, wednesday, thursday, friday and saturday)

I would like to select say, the monday radio button.
When labelDay clicks over to monday it will run my mail code.

The problem I have now is labelDay.format = 'dddd'
so the value it returns is 'Monday"
The array returns returns 2 as a value.

I was wanting to do something like this as code...

If labelDay = arrayDay then
run mailer
endif

Of course this doesnt work because arrayDay is returning a number and labelDay is returning text.

Is there a better way to do this?

Thansk
Tom

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
cheekybuddha
post Oct 4 2017, 12:53 PM
Post#9


UtterAccess VIP
Posts: 9,277
Joined: 6-December 03
From: Telegraph Hill


Have a look at the last suggestion in DBguy's Post#2, and perhaps forget labelDay.Caption

--------------------


Regards,

David Marten
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Oct 4 2017, 09:35 PM
Post#10



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


Cheekybuda

Of course. Thank you!

I think i am almost there:)

As a test
I triggered a message box to show the results

MsgBox (optDay & Weekday(Date))

And it returns 44 which is perfect, but...
when I add it into an if statement, I get no result.

If Me!optDay = Weekday(Date) Then
MsgBox ("thats it")
End If

So optDay is returning the value of 4
and Weekday(date) is returning the value of 4
Does anyone see why the if statement does not work?

Thank you
Tom

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 4 2017, 09:43 PM
Post#11


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,225
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Tom,

What do you get if you use the following instead?

MsgBox Me.optDay
MsgBox WeekDay(Date)
MsgBox Me.optDay=WeekDay(Date)

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Oct 4 2017, 09:48 PM
Post#12



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


DBGuy

I get 4
then 4
then false

Tom

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 4 2017, 10:41 PM
Post#13


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,225
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Interesting... What do you get with this?

MsgBox CInt(Me.optDay)=Weekday(Date)

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Oct 5 2017, 08:42 AM
Post#14



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


Again 'False'
I tried using dim statements to change both values to a number, but got the same result.
Not sure why 4 does not equal 4 smile.gif

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 5 2017, 10:33 AM
Post#15


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,225
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi,

What exactly is optDay and how is it populated? Is it an Option Group, a Combobox, or what?

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Oct 5 2017, 12:45 PM
Post#16



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


DBGuy
It is an array with seven radio buttons (sunday, monday tuesday, wednesday, thursday, friday and saturday)

i want to be able select a day (eg. monday radio button) and an email will be sent every monday.

Also I no longer need to get the date from the other form frmswitch as the weekday(date) function gets todays date

Thanks
Tom

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 5 2017, 12:53 PM
Post#17


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,225
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Hi Tom,

An "array" could refer to more than one thing. Can you post a screenshot of your form in design view showing the properties of the radio buttons? Thanks.

For example, if it's an Option Group, we'll need to see the Option Value property.

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Oct 5 2017, 01:34 PM
Post#18



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


It is an option group, yes smile.gif
Attached File(s)
Attached File  Capture.JPG ( 61.42K )Number of downloads: 1
 

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
theDBguy
post Oct 5 2017, 02:00 PM
Post#19


Access Wiki and Forums Moderator
Posts: 71,225
Joined: 19-June 07
From: SunnySandyEggo


Okay, thanks. Looks good so far. So, for today (Thursday), let's try the following in the AfterUpdate event of the Option Group:

MsgBox Me.optDay = Weekday(Date)

and select Thur. Do you still get a False? If so, are you able to post a small copy of your db without any data?

Click on the image below to see the MsgBox.

Attached File  option_group.gif ( 506.05K )Number of downloads: 3

--------------------
Just my 2 cents... "And if I claim to be a wise man, it surely means that I don't know" - Kansas
Microsoft Access MVP | Access Website | Access Blog | Email
Go to the top of the page
 
wizcow
post Oct 5 2017, 02:20 PM
Post#20



Posts: 283
Joined: 10-April 03
From: B.C. Canada


dbGuy

Still False
Ill prep a db for you

Thank you
Tom

--------------------
Anything worth doin'
is worth OVER-doin' !!!
Go to the top of the page
 
2 Pages V  1 2 >


Custom Search
RSSSearch   Top   Lo-Fi    13th December 2017 - 07:22 PM